You miss me?

It looks delicious, but it's not!

I know you did. It’s okay, I missed you too.

After beating the game, I took the next day off from writing, and yesterday I was out-of-town for work. So you had to make due with mashing F5, praying I would bring you some enlightened reading material to help you whittle the hours away at the office. So, here you go: me, providing you, a fraction of your daily dose of time-wasting.

With the achievement of RR80 on my Knight, I have only a few minor goals left for him before he’s got all that I could possibly want. I have full Sovereign, and 3 out of 8 pieces for the second set. I also still need to get my royal weapons, and I’m currently around 100 insignia shy of my two-hander, and then I have my sword/shield to get. Or I may reverse that, I haven’t decided 100% yet, which way to go. In large part, I’m still unsure of what route to take because the vast majority of my guild decided to be trendy, go-alongs, and rerolled to Badlands.

I get it, Badlands is the happening place to be. Lots of pops all the time, always action going on. I get it, I really do. But there’s not much chance of me re-rolling to play competitively on another server just after getting 80 on a character. Especially not with me having to start a character all over again. The prospect of me leveling a fifth avatar to 40 (and a seventh to above 30) is about appealing as cooked fruit. I hate cooked fruit, screw you apple pie, un-American be damned! So I anticipate my upcoming couple of weeks in WAR to be fairly dull. The Majority of my time, I’ll be playing my Shadow Warrior, which functions as a far more fun career to play as a soloist.

So, this week is rumored to be unveiling of the 6v6 scenario “The Eternal Citadel”, which makes me extra-sad that  my guild is probably going to be slumming it on Badlands. So, my highly anticipated scenario of awesome, and I may not be able to play it competitively. /sigh Frustration abounds.

Additionally, I’ll probably be pulling back on the throttle of time in game, to go back and finally play more of those single-player and console games I’ve got waiting. I still haven’t finished Dead Space, or the original Assassin’s Creed (repition FTL), and last night, I actually started to play Dragon Age: Origins. So, I’ll probably write something about the last at least as a much-late review. As a hint: so far, I’m not “wow’d”.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

8 Responses to You miss me?

  1. RanknVile says:

    You sir…are most allowed to go to play DeadSpace…that game just rocked our world. We are so getting DS2 on launch.

    Enjoy and grats!

    • shadowwar says:

      I’ve REALLY enjoyed what I’ve played of Dead Space so far. Like, really really enjoyed. I’m more stoked about finishing that than I am any of the others.

  2. Rer says:

    All of the last 3 games you are considering playing are good, take some time off from WAR.

    • shadowwar says:

      They all are pretty good, of the three, AC is the one I’m least excited about. I spent a fair amount of time in the game after I started, and it got very repetitive very fast. So far, DA:O is leaving me underwhelmed. The controls feel clunky and the tactics seem uncessarily complicated. I’ll have more opinions when I put a lot more hours into it.

      • Attic says:

        Yeah, AC1 is very, very dull. AC2 is a vast improvement in every way and a very good game altogether. As a bonus AC2 also happens to explain more of AC1s plot than AC1 does itself, so if you feel like skipping it you don’t really miss anything story wise.

        Personally I’ve been replaying older games like Planescape, BG2, Grim Fandango, and a little Dawn of War 2. Also got Alpha Protocol downloading atm.

  3. Eatr says:

    It’s always rocky during a shift. I figured I’d go all in and see where it goes. Right now, it doesn’t seem to be panning out well on Badlands. Some view the problem as “leveling” not being fun. I see it as simply playing the game. I’ve always played WAR in the mindset of playing whatever was needed. It was never really about any specific character, it was always about playing with the people I’ve come to know and respect.

    That being said, it seems like Badlands may not pan out as well as I originally thought. If things continue the way they have been, I’ll be back on Gorfang.

  4. Jomu says:

    you… don’t like pie? o.O;;

    • shadowwar says:

      I LOVE pie, just not fruit-based pie.

      Pecan pie for instance = awesome.
      Key-lime pie = incredible.
      Pumpkin pie = darn good.
      Cheescake (is actually a pie despite the name) = BEST EVER.

Leave a Reply

