Drama, we have it

Comedy TragedyI’ve been on the fence whether to write about this particular in-guild/alliance situation that happened recently. I have a lot of personal opinions on the matter, and there’s a lot of stuff that people would rather I not put out in the world for anyone to read about. That said, I’ve never been one to pull back when I’ve had stuff to say, and the fact that I’ve been hesitant in this situation surprises me. With all of that said, I’m going to go ahead and put it all on the table, it will need to be a big table, so feel free to skip this sit down if you don’t want bleeding eyeballs.

Within the last few weeks, my guild split off from the alliance we had been a part of sense I can remember.

A little back-story: when I first joined up with the guild, we were in an alliance with some good people, but one of the larger guilds jumped servers, so we reformed with everyone else and a few new members. This all happened within the first month of my membership. I had personally gotten along with everyone in the alliance, and played with them all on a very regular basis. My Lost Vale group was made up of people entirely outside of my guild, and run by an officer in one of our allies guilds. I got along great with this guy and everyone else. We would all bitch from time to time about some of the people in authority in our guilds, and joke back and forth about when we were going to just all leave and start our own guild. It was usually pretty light hearted, and I always just took it to be a situation where we all were venting. The truth of the matter is, that with very few exceptions, I love playing with all of my guild mates. They really are a great crew, and hanging out in vent is just a good time.

So, a few weeks back, the talk really started ramping up about me leaving my guild, and people complaining about the current state of the alliance, at one point I was even pulled into a vent channel as an observer as some guild officers from across the server gathered to talk about their plans to dissolve and reform something else, and pull as many people away from my guild as possible. I had been aware that some people had been talking to a couple of our officers and trying to get a gauge on their feelings toward our leadership and the way things currently sat in our alliance, but until this paint I had no idea of the depth of the situation. I found myself in a terrible position. On the one hand, I had a good friend in my LV group who was spearheading this attempted coup, and the other I had a group of great friends in the guild who I joined up with right away on this server, and whom I’ve been loyal too ever sense. I had a lot of thinking to do, my initial instinct at first was to sound an alarm and bring it to the attention of some of the officers I was closer to, and let them handle it, but I waited. I wanted to  have time to look at the situation from every angle so that I didn’t make a poor decision. It’s just the way I do things, I like to methodically examine a situation, and then when I come to a conclusion, act quickly and decisively. However, I wasn’t granted that time. Within days of me finding out the breadth of the plan, I logged on to see that the alliance had disbanded.

I was fairly shocked at this turn of events, because I knew it wasn’t the entire alliance that had conspired to end our collaboration. So, I sent a tell to our Guild Leader to have some questions answered and chat it out with him over what the plans were here out and all the other things I’m sure he was sick of answering. He was able to handle some stuff, but I could tell he was busy and not really able to have a conversation on it, as he said, “Just trust us, it was the right decision.”. So, I grabbed one of the other senior officers and had a sit down with him. He answered pretty much all of my questions (along with another guild mate who was curious), and even chatted a little bit on the ramifications of this. After the other guy left he (the officer) talked to me alone, and wanted to say that he was glad that I’m sticking around, and that the officers all respect my loyalty to the guild. Apparently, my dedication to the guild had been brought into question because of some posts on WHA that didn’t toe the guild line. As I said above, I’m not one to pull punches, or hold my tongue when I disagree with something I see going on, and the truth of the matter is, our guild leader brings a lot of the dislike from the server from both sides on himself. Sometimes he does this on purpose. He’s a good guy, but he is also arrogant and vain, which is fine, but it brings problems that wouldn’t come otherwise. Despite all that, I still like the guy. Our guild also benefits from the fact that we don’t need the Guild Leader to run, we are extremely self sufficient. People will get together without any type of direction and just start to work on a goal as a group. We also have enough officers that play regularly enough that most of the time, one is around for whatever is needed.

The end of my conversation with the officer ended with a surprising statement from him. He acknowledged that I had been with the guild for a long time, and told me that if it wasn’t for some of those above-mentioned posts, I’d probably had been made an officer by now. The short and long of my response was, “What? I don’t even know if I want to be an officer.” I’ve never been an officer in any guild in any game before, and there is good reason for it. It’s a lot of work and responsibility. It also means getting crapped on pretty frequently from whoever feels like you have to listen to them. Last but not least, it also means that I would have to hold my tongue on situations, and wear the company suit so to speak. I told him that now that it’s been brought up, I can see some advantages to it, but I really don’t know if it’s something I would ever be interested in. We joked around a bit more after that then went back to playing the game.

The entire time that I’m speaking on vent with this officer, I’m getting tells from the friend who lead my LV group (and the attempted coup) asking if I was going to leave my guild and join the one he was in. I waffled early on, telling him that there was no way I could make a decision before hearing both sides of the story, and that I can’t just up and leave all the friends I had made at the drop of a hat. So, by the time I was done, I had made my decision to stay, and told my friend as much. His response to me was, “You realize that LV won’t be happening anymore then, right?”. I figured he would go there, and told him as much. It’s sad to me that he had to be so petty as to drop me from the group because I wouldn’t go with him away from the people I had been playing with for the past 5 months, but it was his decision to make, and I respect it.

rebellionIn the end, my guild didn’t lose anyone that I’m aware of. We trimmed down our guild roster of anyone who has been inactive for more than a week, something I’ve been fighting for a long time to happen. We want to start racing through our guild levels, and paring away the chaff is the best way we know how. We’ve also started to organize more focus on gearing up people who have yet to have that opportunity. We’re on a bit of a recruiting blitz as well, trying to getting new players to join us and teach them how to play, and if it works out, great, if not, then no hair of our backs. We also just formed up a new alliance with one of the old one’s guilds. We are now, The Rebellion. Who loves Star Wars references? We do.

When you boil it all down, I come to this conclusion on the whole matter:

  • The guild made the right choice.
  • What was attempted against us was sneaky and underhanded, but I understand the motives behind it (a more unified Order with someone others saw as detrimental to success not playing a role).
  • I’m more proud to be in the guild I am in now than I was a few weeks ago.
  • Drama always happens.
About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Drama, we have it

  1. Selaphiel says:

    Been wondering what happened to Enigma and their alliance…as Destro it’s kinda tough to figure out sometimes I guess. But, LV is much more enjoyable if you don’t do it as much…the drop rates and bugs can get a little frustrating.

    Also, every time I see you I go after you. For fun. And RP. And loots.

    See you on the battlefield.

    • shadowwar says:

      Yeah, I noticed your sudden shift and a b-line toward me last night. And a week or so ago when I dropped down behind you in TM as you chased after some stragglers. Only to watch said stragglers run off, and all my reinforcements leave me alone with you and Hallu. I love our server sometimes 😉

  2. slurms says:

    Drama sucks. I have a strict “No Drama” policy with any guild I place my characters in. If drama ramps up and isnt taken care of, i’m out.

    I’m very lucky to be in the guild i’m in, great bunch of casual, fun loving people.

    • shadowwar says:

      I’m right there with you. Like I said, the guild removed themselves from the drama before I even got a chance to sit down and really think it over. I’m talking, like, within a day of me finding out what was going on. It’s one of the things I like about the guild, for the most part, we’re drama free. It’s part of the reason I made this post, I’ve been with them for closing on my sixth month, and this is the first big drama I’ve seen.

  3. Snafzg says:

    This is why I solo! 😛

  4. theerivs says:

    Ahh Guild Drama, No matter what MMO you play, or what guild you are in…it just happens sometimes. I’ve been lucky, and I’ve been with the same core of people since back in the DAOC days in 2002.

  5. theerivs says:

    “This is why I solo” – Snafzg

    Syp told me you smell, and forced to solo. LOL j/k

Leave a Reply

