Shocker!

You mad bro?

A lot of people read Keen’s blog. Hell, I read it from time to time. I am not playing Rift, and had no real intention of playing it past the first month. I gave it the opportunity to rejuvenate the treadmill themepark MMO style too me, and it unsurprisingly failed. I’m reading a genuinely mixed post-release take on Rift throughout various blogs. Some are caressing its cheek in deep adoration, others are growing bored with it already.

In spite of whatever the current opinion of Rift by the masses, I found it humorous that Keen went to the trouble of picking apart an interview about the game. Some of the things he said, I found to be completely unmatched to my experiences – like the lag issue. In other areas, I think he has a base difference of opinion behind the message – like what the short-comings are in the themepark MMO genre. Furthermore, I think he doesn’t realize how fully static WoW is. Rift is static as well, but having continual events that can change the landscape of the world for everyone (read: not lol-phasing), even for a short amount of time, means the world is more mutable.

The game is in direct competition with WoW. It’s a fantasy-themed, quest-grind, PvE-centric MMO. Saying otherwise is disingenuous, or spin by marketing. However, all video-games are in some extent in competition to WoW, it’s a matter of degrees. Hell, the HexDefender app on my phone is in direct competition to my Words With Friends app, despite being completely different genres, and those apps are in competition to me finishing BioShock, despite also being different platforms.

So, while I may not be a fan of Rift, it’s not because they did now what WoW did in 2004. I give credit to Trion where credit is due. They did a bang-up job on creating a ridiculous stable, smooth game. They put in place tech that supported what it is they wanted to do. They took the parts they didn’t like from all the other MMOs, and made them better. Stamping my foot because the new shoes I wore for the neighborhood game of kick-the-can isn’t wow’ing (see what I did there?) my playmates like I had hoped won’t make the game of kickball they’re playing instead any less fun.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

6 Responses to Shocker!

  1. theerivs says:

    All games are in direct competition with me whacking it.

  2. SynCaine says:

    Solid FBW entry. I approve.

  3. Mr. Meh says:

    I read Keen’s article a week ago. I read the CNN article before his as well.

    Where Keen seemed to be just enraged by the article, I was just flabbergasted that Rift, Trion made it to their own article in CNN Tech news. Normally this section of CNN is … pretty aweful. It’s not even a good top 20 tech spot to get information from. As well CNN is pretty shameless about their articles just being advertising. I mean you only have to read 3 articles on CNN to realize that. They lost their news creditibility years ago. So unless you want to read an extended advertizement about upcoming iPhone products or stupid new products from Facebook fake currency or whatever they are doing these days, CNN Tech news is not a go to news section for anyone with even basic technological backgrounds.

    Now that said, knowing CNN is just a giant advertising wheel of spewing bullshit, it’s really really hard to get angry at the article. Because it’s doing exactly what CNN does, sells your product. How many abnormal gamers did that article reach and sell to? How much did Trion pay to get that interview/article/improved advertising banner?

    Also, recommended addition:

    “The game is in direct competition with WoW. It’s a fantasy-themed, quest-grind, PvE-centric MMO. Saying otherwise is disingenuous, or spin by marketing.”

    I would put in the point of dugneon/raid. Why? It shows exactly how you can tell RIFT is in direct competition with WoW. Rift is the new and improved vanilla WoW. Once you hit end game, their is no doubt any longer that Rift’s intention was to make their own version of vanilla WoW.

    • Shadow says:

      “Once you hit end game, their is no doubt any longer that Rift’s intention was to make their own version of vanilla WoW.”

      Someone doubted that?

      Hell, if anyone is going to copy WoW, at least they did it from the point that had the most worth.

Leave a Reply

