Sorry, Mr. Clemens, you can’t use that language

Continuing along a similar thread to yesterday’s post:

What. The. Fuck.

Maybe I’m getting old, but the absurdity of the political correct factions that seem to be pervading society at an astounding rate seems to be increasing at a daily level. To the point, that even when talking about a bad thing, you can’t name that bad thing. Censorship taken to the nth degree. The quote from the article that really rung my bell of incredulity was this:

Race matters in these books. It’s a matter of how you express that in the 21st century.

How race is expressed in the books also matters. The entire expression of the words “nigger” or “injun” is an underlying method of expressing the immoral nature of slavery and racism that occurred within the setting of the novel. Removing the terminology is not making the book more palatable or more appropriate, it’s a rewriting of the dialect in an attempt to whitewash the reality of the day, and thus diminishing the importance of the message that Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens) was trying to deliver. By changing the wording, the severity of the discrimination is lessened, and the reader is no longer able to realize as strong of a juxtaposition between our current situation and that of the story.

This is what happens when I start getting off an emotional tangent, I start looking for these kinds of things. I’ll try to filter any similar topics from here for the next few weeks at least!

Thanks to Corey at That One Blog for pointing this out.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Sorry, Mr. Clemens, you can’t use that language

  1. Helltrek says:

    Again. . agreed. I never understood the “make everyone happy” mentality. You will NEVER be able to make everyone happy, or NOT offend SOMEONE. To me, it goes against what America stands for, freedom to say what I want to say, when I want to say it. You don’t like it? Let’s have a discussion about it. You don’t want to discuss it, and it offends you? Go Screw. I believe this notion and the massive effort to be politically corrected, is a large contributor to stripping away the personality of this country. . . I could start on a rant here, ranging from the degradation of future generations personal motivation, to illegal immigration. But, I will just stop there. I do however like that fact that, as of the time when I voted, 94% of the voters on that link disagreed with the censorship of the novel. At least some people haven’t lost their god damn minds.

    • Shadow says:

      PREACH IT!

      I have to reign myself in sometimes too on subjects like this. It helps keep my blood-pressure down, but also it’s not really site-related content.

  2. Rikker says:

    Heh, I voted as well, and was pleased to see the results.

    I agree. W.T.F.

    Mr. Clemens should be rolling over in his grave for this crap.

Leave a Reply

