Patch Days

Yesterday was a patch day for League of Legends, and for anyone familiar with the things that go on around patch day of MMOs, what occurred on the forums is old hat. Maybe it is for people who regularly play LoL as well, but I took a measure of solace in knowing that the issues that plague MMOs plague other genres as well. In particular for me, the patcher had decided to be permanently stuck in one of two unfavorable statuses, “Busy” or “Unavailable”, denying me of gratifying playtime. Even the website’s “server status” page was uncooperative, reporting forbidden access with each try to piece the veil.

 Happily enough, I stumbled upon a tip from someone on a YouTube video of the newest hero. At the patcher, you could enter a code that apparently activated the play button. Left, Right, Left, Right, Down, Down, Up, Up, 3, 4. The directional inputs are the arrow keys, very reminiscent of the Konami Code. So, I got to play, albeit, in a very slow, long-loading process, and games took slightly longer than usual to occur. The wait of 3 minutes compared to the typical 35 seconds was painful to bear.

I’ll say this: the things I love most about Warhammer (scenarios), is part of what draws me to LoL (and DotA before it). It’s a short wait, before some really intense small team PvP that can be played in relatively short bursts. It’s fast, furious, and immediately rewarding. LoL being a properly done F2P model with marginal progression bonuses are icing on this delicious cake, and the cake is just familiar enough to not make me uncomfortable. Even on patch day.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Patch Days

  1. Snafzg says:

    The more this spreads around the more likely Riot is to change the code…

    Keep it secret. KEEP IT SAFE! 😉

    Otherwise we’re all going to be screwed next patch day.

  2. Snafzg says:

    PS. Feel free to friend me in LoL (same name as above). I usually run around with Syncaine and co. but there are times when they’re not online or we need another for our games. 🙂

    • Shadow says:

      Will do! I’ve been enjoying Nidalee with the recent line-up, and am thinking of purchasing her as my next hero. She may even over-take my love of Mundo!

  3. Rer says:

    Oh.. you play do you? Well then, clearly we must have a few rounds together!

    I haven’t played after such a long time that I’m likely rusty, though if I play Garen I suppose that doesn’t really matter.

  4. Snafzg says:

    Snore-macia!

    Garen’s all right, but too one-dimensional for my tastes. For tanky DPS I’d rather play Xin Zhao. 🙂

Leave a Reply

