Shadow-war turns two

As I said the other day, this blog saw its second anniversary last week, on the 6th of January. Not so dissimilar from last year, I’m a little impressed that I have kept it going. I still enjoy playing WAR, but even with the release of the RvR pack, my interest and the interest in the game itself seems to be waning some. Not that the game is bad, but two years is a long time to play ANY game. Sadly, the community seems to be shrinking some, but those who are still here are a tight-knit group, and maintain the bonds of camaraderie still.

As I said on Friday, my blog stats have taken a major turn southward this year, as you’ll see in the pictures below. In case you weren’t around at the time, this is because, for whatever reason, google-images stopped bringing people here for a Christina Hendricks photo. Yes, my blog stats were majorly blown out of proportion because of that one picture. My busiest day ever, was the day Time (or something) named her as one of the world’s sexiest people (or something). I was never able to get an accurate read on what people liked, and what they did not, because the incoming traffic was such a blow-out to everything else, that analytics were fruitless. So, when I said viewership was down and I couldn’t be happier, I’m being sincere. Adolescents teens coming to fap to a picture of a hot-red head is great, but if they’re not participating in the discussion by at least reading what I write, it doesn’t do me much good.

So, follow the break for a bit of statistical imagery and some more chatter.

As you can see, my daily views for the most recent period now vary between 50 and 150, depending on the week, and how much writing I’ve been doing, compared to last year’s flux of about 550-850, and my weeks reflect a similar pattern. The scale for my views per month are so out of proportion, that it’s become impossible to get any real idea of the views this year. The saddest thing about this whole deal, is that I was never able to get an accurate read of how many viewers I had for the trip to Mythic HQ. I literally have no reliable way of getting even a rough estimation for that. In the end, my site has gone from 113,000 views, to 412, 000, I’m quickly approaching the half-million mark. Thanks Ms. Hendricks!

When I first created this blog, I did so with full knowledge that I wouldn’t be writing about WAR forever, nor would I be writing about solely that game, but WAR would be the current bulk and focus of my writing. WAR was the impetus for the creation of this place of the internet, and I couldn’t be happier for it spurring me on and getting me going. Even the name of the site, as closely as it holds ties to the game, can be construed and used for multiple reasons, and is not too limited to force a relocation for name change reasons. So, as I continue to be more soundly in the generalist field, I hope to build my community of bloggers to others who write similarly.

Re-reading through this, I want to point out, I’m not quitting WAR. I’m not leaving the game, and I’m not done writing about it, but I am playing it less, and thus am writing about it less, on top of the reality of my life becoming busier this year with my daughter, school, and a resurging social life. I try to avoid promises and guarantees, this place, in the end, is a place for me to have conversation with others who also enjoy video games, MMOs, and the many facets of the genre, keeping that up is the primary goal for me, and that’s what I will continue to do.

Have a happy new year, and may all your gaming be entertaining and fulfilling!

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

2 Responses to Shadow-war turns two

  1. theerivs says:

    Congo rats. I remember when you first started…but wasn’t it called Fluffy Kitten Wars back then?

Leave a Reply

