To hold you over

I won’t be able to attend the PTS tonight, so last night, I did some quick poking around on the test server, running around the lake and getting a look at all the new toys we’re getting. Or, well, as many as I could. Nothing feels drastically different from the old map, everything you come across should be comfortable and easy to interact with. There are still a few graphical glitches that seem to be lingering (like the cast bar ghost after interacting with a siege weapon), but for the most part, if you use the stock UI, basic information should be right at your fingertips, telling you different things in a familiar manner. Follow the jump for some pictures and comments.

First, I’d like to point out something that’s missing. See below. Notice the missing squares of domination counters? Yeah, that’s right, that “A-” you got in calculus is now even less useful than before.

Next up, the main map. You can see here a number of things. On the far west, is a keep held by Destro, that is currently at rank 3. You see that the BO just southeast of that is owned by them as well, and is generating resource carriers. Further east of that, you can see a BO owned by Order, that is creating resources, and it seems that someone just slapped the ass of the carrier’s mount, because it’s left the station, and the tooltip tells you it’s an “important monster”. At the far east side you can see a BO that has recently been flipped by Order, and will soon start generating resources. I couldn’t have asked for a better moment to get a picture.

Now lets get an up-and-personal look at the new BOs and Keeps.

I’ll start with the enemy. If you don’t tell the guy to go, he’s going to sit there, waiting for some ninja-Legalos to start attacking him, or take the objective. These things have a TON of hitpoints when armored as far as I can tell. I wasn’t putting much of a dent in him (and keep the SW jokes to yourself!).

This is what you get to see on the side of good and righteousness less blatantly evil and selfish, when you control an objective.

A nice row of artillery, waiting to be used. I also what appeared to be static siege weaponry around the walls, but I was never able to actually find one that I could cart across the battlefield. There was a surprising number of people around, so it’s likely others got dibs before I did.

Much to my regret, I also didn’t get to be an aerial bomber in the limited time I had. Of course, now that I sit here and type this, I realize I probably could have checked the other zones, but God knows if the would have been at sufficient rank for my needs. Still, I think this NPC and the guy (out of shot) to his left have something to do with flying around, dropping death from above.

Lastly, you might have heard about the renown-system revamp, where there are no longer any barriers to purchasing abilities based on tiers, and that is true. Mostly. There are some abilities you can’t purchase, and it seems as if some lingering restrictions are hanging around unintentionally, as I wasn’t able to purchase any ranged crit chance.

The rest of that yellow text says "The stuff you need duufus!"

Hope you guys enjoyed the pictures, and got to poke around yourselves last night. I hope you all romp around like maniacs there tonight and help make the game the best it can be. Everyone person and body helps. Don’t forget, 8pm EST the fun begins, and Mythic will most likely be hosting their own vent for you to get instructions from and maybe even get to do the usual Q&A after-wards.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

4 Responses to To hold you over

  1. Mr Meh says:

    I was having the same issue with the training. It had all the old must purchase the minimum amount.

    Not sure if that was intentional. Otherwise I don’t see the point of the revamp.

  2. Pingback: Kurznachrichten: 06.10.10 - Waaagh.de

Leave a Reply

