Three is better than four

Tomorrow is the first night of testing the mechanics of the new RvR Campaign. Wednesday, the 6th, at 8 PM est is the scheduled kick off time, and the event will be taking place in Tier 3. So start patching now, get your character ready, and be ahead of the curve in preparation time, lording it over the foolishly unprepared miscreants holding back progress. Sometimes, knowledge of moral superiority is all that you have to fall back on.

So, get on there, and run around like maniacs, getting to be a part of the group that gets the first glimpse of how this will all work. I envy you, because I’ll be busy trying not to be bored in class. I expect reports from all of you on my desk first thing Thursday morning. No late work will be excepted.

No, that’s not a typo above, it is Tier 3. I actually had an interesting conversation about this on the forums today. This is the first event of many, and as I see it, it’s analogous to revving the engine of your car some before taking it out on a road trip. You want to make sure that everything is in working order and functioning as intended before you travel 2000 miles at 80 mph across highways and freeways on your trek across the country.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

4 Responses to Three is better than four

  1. Grimnir says:

    I just figured it was because their T3 servers aren’t nearly as powerful as the T4 ones, so it’ll load up faster with less people and give a better idea of what the server under severe load conditions will do.

    • shadowwar says:

      That’s possible. The eternal optimist in me wants this to be the first of like, 20 testing sessions, and that this is just to run the system through it’s paces. I could be wildly, terribly wrong though.

  2. Sarigs says:

    I figured it was only because T3 = No Renown 65s don’t need to spoiler the new Zone yet. Work out the Rvr mechanics in T3 and then the campaign changes as a “whole” once there ready in T4.

    • shadowwar says:

      True but the test server is open now, if I wanted I could go look around in T4 all willy nilly. Of course, it’s probably just not loaded into the game clients version on PTS yet.

Leave a comment