I’m a competative jerk-face

 

Nerd and art nastalgia in one place!

I play to win.

When I play Warhammer, I don’t like going into a fight ill-prepared. I always have a liniment and a pot up. I always have stacks of health pots available. I make sure that my tactic build and gear choice are the best for my group. I bring said group with me.

When I play Starcraft 2, I scout early with a probe/drone/SCV. I try to build accordingly to a reasonable build older. I use control groups for my headquarters, for my unit productions, and I know the short-cut keys for pretty much all actions. I make use of groups for various units, use shift-orders consistently for planned movement/build/attacks.

Basically, I do everything in my power in games I play to perform at a reasonable level of competency that I am happy with. I know I won’t be the best at everything, but I like to think that I’m decent to good.

That said, I tend to get frustrated by two things as a result. The first, are excuse makers. Nothing grinds my gears harder than someone who has to point fingers at outside reasons to qualify a loss.  This is the group of Warhammer players who cry about Nerfed Buttons, AutoFocus, or premades. Losing sucks, it always has, always does. Sometimes things really are in the other person’s favor, but just as frequently, they are in yours. There’s a phrase I heard in regards to baseball once that is appropriate I think:

Everyone will win 40 games, and everyone will lose 40 games, it’s what you do with those last 40 that matter.

The second is myself. When I am just unable to overcome a situation and not determine where the hell I went wrong. Last night was a prime example of this. I lost three matches in Starcraft back to back against terrans. I started off sending my probe to investigate, finding their ramp walled off by the classic barracks/supply depot. I presume there will be a bioball rush (Marines, Marauders, Medivacs). The first match, I rushed zealots there to try and break the wall and get into the soft squishy bits – and failed. The second match I massed stalkers zealots with a sprinkling of dark templars for confusion/quick kills – and failed. The third match, I went with zealots for the ground, photon cannons at the gates, and void rays for the air – and failed. It wasn’t until I went to sleep, that a lightbulb clicked in my head, and I realized how retarded I had been – Collosi! I was pissed when losing, because I couldn’t figure out a solution.

By the same token, I expect other’s to always play to win. I don’t ask for quarter, and I don’t want any. It’s a sucker’s bet, and will bite you in the ass. I remember way back in high school, my friends and I would play Magic the Gathering during lunch, or when free time permitted. In one match against a friend, I had Dakkon Blackblade out, and had my friend on the ropes. I was feeling superior and like I had the game in the bag. I went about five turns not attacking with this powerhouse, and clinching the win. I remember it took five turns, because that’s how long it took my friend to concoct a come-from-behind win of devastation.

Play your best, and pray your opponents does as well. In the end, no one will feel cheated, and everyone can just appreciate the fun of the game.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

8 Responses to I’m a competative jerk-face

  1. Tarelther says:

    Agreed.

    I couldn’t say it better myself.

    I’m willing to bet Armageddon had something to do with loss of that Magic game.

  2. Rikker says:

    Meh, I understand what you’re saying.

    However, I for one despise the use of both Autofocus and NerfedButtons.

    Autofocus, well, I don’t like being forced to a target due to someone’s mistake.

    NerfedButtons, in my book, is just lame. Really? You can’t decide for yourself whether or not to cast that spell due to the information provided?

    NB can set up a chain that will auto-optimize your spell chain based on target’s hp, buffs, etc. All you really have to do is rush in and click a button. BORING. No skill required for that. No thought, no reaction speed… the computer does it all for you. Why would you bother to play at that point? Where’s the enjoyment without actually pitting yourself against another?

    *Note, this is not directed at anyone specific, just my thoughts on the matter.*

    I have no problems with premades, bomb groups, melee trains, etc.

    I only have problems with lazy players who kind of direct an “autopilot” toon. If they can’t compete with their betters, then they best work on it. Same goes for me, and everyone I play with.

    • shadowwar says:

      I could ride my bike to work every day, or I could drive my car. I think people who drive their cars are just lazy and need to build some muscle.

      That’s essentially the same argument that is made by you and I frequently see elsehwere.

      When it comes down to it, using it as a tool in the correct applications improves gameplay. Anything I can legally use (as it pertains to game rules) to improve play, I will. I refuse to concoct make-believe morals that are unrelevant to the experience.

      As I see it, State of the Realm has had a FAR greater impact on how the game is played than NB ever will. Whether that affect is good or bad, is not my call to make, but it has changed the way the entire game is played.

      • Erbse says:

        That analogy doesn’t quite work, as getting to work isn’t something you choose for fun, or anything competitive, but something you have to do.

        You can play a game for fun, or to win. If the latter is the case you only experience ‘fun’ through winning, with which there’s nothing wrong, I guess – however, that’s appears to be more of personal issue people have and defies the original purpose of playing. Playing is supposed to be fun, win or loss should not matter but be mere icing on top of a good (or ones best) performance.

        If there nerfed buttons existed for lets say RTS games (Starcraft II), would you, or anyone use it for the single player mode, assuming one played the campaign to begin with or only when playing online versus other players?

        At the end of the day it’s less of a question of morale, but that people lost the original sense of what is supposed to be fun when playing a game. Maybe it’s due to the development where all games became so piss easy that every monkey can complete them – thinking back, if you played to win, and winning was your source of fun, you surely must have been disappointed during the Atari, C64 and NES era 😉

      • shadowwar says:

        It absolutely works. The intent of the outcome is immaterial to the concept of how that goal is reached. However, I’m more intrigued by your knowledge of “the original purpose of playing”. Winning and losing does matter, that phrase is something mom’s told their kids so they don’t feel so bad about losing the soccer match. Also, be cautious when using words that leave no room (i.e. can ONLY have fun by winning).

        As to the other half, if an exact copy of NB was there for SC2, I don’t think I would use. Mostly because I don’t think it would really be a well-applied tool. However, if a legal, analagous tool was available and allowed by Blizzard, and it would increase my perfomance: yes, I would use it. I have zero issue with using all tools allowed to compete.

        Happily, what I think is the original purpose behind video games, and what you think it is, are different things. The genre would be rather dull if everyone had the same perspective as me.

      • Erbse says:

        Well, I grew up with the NES as major defining gaming console in my youth, followed by the NES. While as I kid I certainly raged easier, harder and most definitely more often, I always been rather chilled in comparison to other cases. Even today I frequently grab an emulator and replay old titles, partially even get as frustrated with them I was as a kid.

        Now, I was never someone that enjoyed reaching the goal just like that and move one, but someone that enjoyed the way that lead there including its obstacles. Granted, some obstacles were so retarded it drove me nuts but eventually I’d have figured it out, so the feeling was all the more rewarding. The way has always been the goal for me, while the goal itself has always been quite lame, implying that it’s over.

        I don’t know how often I played through Silent Hill 1, it probably is an all time favorite of mine. Mario II and Mario III for the (S)NES, Journey to Silius, Zelda II, Battle of Olympus, Ufouria and the Gothic series aren’t too far behind. I keep and kept on playing for the challenges in games, always been, hence using tools to make it directly easier, or taking out the challenge for that matter (which NB does, to an extend) defies what I’m playing a game for.

        While SoR definitely has a greater impact as to how the game is played, that one is a matter of efficiency, nor does it have an impact on how an individual performs in combat. Imagine SoR didn’t exist – you could wander through the lakes for days and not find anyone, especially given Gorfang’s state at times. If there was enough player to support it (possibly Badlands), it might actually be an improvement if SoR was gone though.

        While I do play for the challenge I’m counterproductive though, as I’m real quick in analyzing most games’ KI and find its weaknesses and / or exploits rather quick making it extremely easy. In Civilization 4 for example I’m rolling up with planes and tanks when my enemies barely hit the musketeer phase of the game.

        While it is true that parents tend to feed their kids with crap so they don’t feel bad but special instead a hobby remains always a hobby, something that’s fun to you, regardless of the outcome. If someone likes to grow stuff in his garden I wouldn’t think he’d be too disappointed if part of what he planted didn’t make it due to whatever circumstances, as what has been enjoyed was probably the digging and getting ones hands dirty.

  3. Rikker says:

    You have a point.

    To that end, let me lay out why I play:

    The reason I play, and PVP, is to have fun pitting myself and my group against the skill and brains of other players/groups.

    I enjoy the battle, the fighting, casting that stun a half-second late and getting snared, or getting that big heal off a second before the 2.5k crit lands on my ally. That’s where I get my fun. I can spend HOURS out in the lakes skirmishing with a few other people that way, or it’s just as cool in a giant 5 wb vs. 5 wb fight.

    Win, lose, I don’t really care THAT much. Yeah, I enjoy winning, who doesn’t. But if I am legitimately outplayed, hey, that’s life, and you can bet I still had fun doing it.

    If the other group has no skill or no brains (stands there like an idiot, no tactics, etc.) then all the fun quickly disappears. If I want to PVComputer, I’ll go play another game.

    So:
    Not everyone plays for the same reasons I do, so I suppose for those people that there is use in Autofocus, NB, etc.
    If Gorfang and IR do merge, let’s just say you can face me with confidence knowing that I will be controlling my character myself.

    Incidentally, the no skill/no tactics is why I am so opposed to the removal of FCD. But I suppose that’s a discussion for another time.

  4. Rer says:

    Goddamn Collosi…, I always add 2 Vikings to my bio-ball builds for this reason alone.

Leave a Reply

