Hardware Gaming

Different hobbies all have different levels of involvement. Most hobbies have a niche market of items pertaining to that specific market, and it contains levels of monetary involvement varying on each. My wife may not understand why Vallejo Acrylics are better than the dollar bottle of crap you can buy at Walmart, but I actually use them, and for me, it makes a difference (sorry Games Workshop, your paints are similar quality and MASSIVELY overpriced). By the same token, I will never understand what someone who plays golf gets from balls that cost $30 for three of them, or a single $500 club. I understand the concept behind the acquisition, just not the particulars. When people take a hobby seriously, they usually strive to get the best results out of it. Gaming is no different.

A long time back, my wife got me an n52te for my birthday. It’s my first interface purchase for me as a gamer. Before then, I’ve been using a classic, and plain keyboard and mouse interface for all gaming needs. There was nothing wrong with that, but I wanted to explore more of where I could take my gaming on a competitive level. Since buying it, I will say, it has honestly improved my performance. It’s not a huge difference, but it’s there, and in any competitive environment, every slight tweak can mean the difference between success and failure. Aside: this is in-part, why you see mix-max, optimal builds, and similar discussions take place so often. Now, as I look around I see other areas where I could improve my interface and streamline my gaming to help give me just another slight tweak. My sights settle on a new mouse.

The options are outstanding. I have everything to choose from, high to low price. Wireless to wired. Crazy amounts of buttons, to a few buttons. Seriously, some of these would take a world-class pianist to use properly. Some emphasize cool appearance, and others just want to be fairly straightforward. Some look like they are deadly robots in disguise. And of course, I have the trendy, current nerd-gasm inducing options.

I like that there are options to gaming enthusiasts. It adds a level of complexity and meta-gaming thinking and activity that fleshes out my experience as a whole. A lot of people view these devices as an intrusion or perversion of what gaming is. Insisting that stock hardware is the “true” way to play. I never bought into that. Times advance, and gaming is becoming more complex. Just as new fabrics and equipment are used in olympic sports to improve track times by 3 hundredths of a second, or make a person jump an eighth of an inch further, the equivalent is happening in gaming. Casual play will remain unaffected, but competitive play will keep pushing the edge of development.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Hardware Gaming

  1. Rikker says:

    Heh, nice post.

    I agree. I fell in love with my N52 about a week after I bought it (it has a small learning curve, but the potential after you figure it out is awesome!).

    Interestingly enough, I still use a two-button mouse. I’ve been thinking about moving up, but nothing can quite bring me to the “more than 6 or 7 buttons” level.
    And, Logitech’s Performance MX is taunting me… I love the high arch…

    Some people swear by 30 button mice though, so if you go that way, let us know how it comes out!

  2. Tyrhoor says:

    I love my Logitech G5 mouse… I bought a Razor back when I played WAR… was really excited about it, until none of the side buttons would work with WAR… so I returned it. I have 2 Logitech G5’s, gotta have that familiarity even when I’m gaming on the laptop elsewheres.

  3. Rer says:

    /hug G15 Keyboard ❤

Leave a Reply

