Tales of hate, entry 9

Today is June 21, and I will be posting this on July 15, 2010.

It was an interesting weekend for my Blackguard. I got to play a bit here or there, and even do a city siege. As I said from the get-go, I’ve been keeping mostly on the down-low about my character, but not being overtly sneaky about him. If people found out who I was, so be it. I wouldn’t lie, and outside of my forum signature on the Alliance forums, I don’t advertise my identity on him. That said, if you’ll reach back in your memory banks, you’ll remember a post (a couple of weeks ago for you) where I talked about some awesome drama and an ex-guildie. Luck would have it, that I ended up in a city siege with him. Within minutes of his guilds arrival, I got chatter asking if it was me.

I confirmed.

Here is where you would expect me to talk about how everyone reared on their hind legs and spewed venom forth from their mouths, and tried to rend my supple flesh with razor-like teeth. This is the place where you would think that all healing to me would stop, all group members would shift elsewhere upon hearing I play the vile Knight on the other side of the line, shunning the lowly Blackgurad (“lol! what? Why play a BG after a KotBS! reh-tard!”). But other than a few notable exceptions, everyone was really chill. I even had someone thank me for the good fights on my Knight (Really? Cross-realm respect? Surely I jest!). After a brief burst in chatter, everything went back to norm. I REALLY wanted to play more afterwards, get together a strong guild group, asI know a few of them were playing, but sadly, life intervened. By life, I mean screaming baby.

Fast forward to the next day, and I have a great personal message from a Destro-realm mate, outing me to the whole forums. His statement is meant with an overwhelming, “Meh, and?” because they realize it’s not a big deal. I of course explained myself, never missing an opportunity to type away and expound upon a subject. So, anyone who reads the forums probably knows who my Blackguard is now, and I’m curious to see how it goes from there. Likelihood is that there will be zero change. The forums really aren’t viewed by a large percentage of the player base, and most people don’t care about stuff like this. Even amongst the population of people who do read the forums and perked up, it seems most could care less. Which makes me happy on a number of levels.

Currently, I’ve been keeping track of scenario results I play on my Blackguard, and I’m curious to see how they all pan out in the end. I think the results are very telling in regards to the perceptions and prejudices people have when it comes to playing the game.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

Leave a Reply

