What playing EVE means

I’m going to regal you with a short story of what happened to me in EVE yesterday, I’ll try to keep it as jargon-free as possible, since most of you guys probably aren’t familiar with the game, and well versed on the phrases I’d be using otherwise. At first blush, this is going to seem like a depressing and frustrating story, making you wonder why the hell anyone would play this game. At second blush it might seem that way too, until you sit down to examine the reality of the game and what makes these actions possible. It started with me accepting a level 2 mission with my Rifter the night before.

Information time: In EVE, the PvE portion of the game is handled in the form of quests (called missions) from NPCs called “Agents”. These NPCs can be found in different stations scattered throughout the universe. Each of them belong to a particular corporation (a guild of sorts, that can be composed of both NPCs/PCs), and each players standing (faction) is tracked for all of these corporations. When a player has done enough missions for an agent, their faction standing with the corporation goes up. Do enough missions, and eventually you get a special mission that increases your standing with the “mother” faction – one of the dominant empires or pirate groups. When that faction standing is high enough, you open access to higher “level” missions. All-in-all there are 5 levels of missions, each significantly harder in general than the previous. Essentially, the PvE in EVE is a faction grind to allow you to do the level of mission best suited to your ship and able to make money of fit.

I had previously been flying a ship called a Kestrel. Kestrel is a ship that is part of the racial pairing that makes the best PvE set-ups. They use missiles which have incredibly long-range, and let you avoid almost all harm, while doing strong, but slow, burst damage. I had been doing level 2 missions with ease in my Kestrel, but had recently turned my eye to a Rifter, in part because of its incredible appearance, and also because I know it’s a very strong PvP frigate (smallest class of ship). Having trained up my skills for the ship, I had been doing Level 1 missions to get used to the ship and learn it’s ropes in PvE. In a couple of days, I felt like I was ready to try my hand at level 2 missions, and so Sunday night I took a mission from my level 2 agent. The mission proved to be a tad too difficult for the firepower I was bringing, so I decided to get some bigger guns – literally.

Because I play in the low security section of space (read: open PvP), fittings are more expensive and less commonly found spread throughout the different systems. The result was that I had to spend about 15 minutes flying to pick up my purchase. Just as I was about to make my last jump through a gate (I’m at the zone line!) I get blown up by some players, and then have my pod destroyed. I lost my ship, and got resurrected a ways away (but still in the same region). I was a tad frustrated at first, I won’t lie about that, and I logged off to play some Warhammer. There I proceeded to bring my claymore of destruction to kill people, in the face. After the catharticly violent pounding I gave to my opponents with the instant gratification of my most beloved of MMOs, I was able to think about what went on exactly, and what it means.

I know, that somehow, there is a way I could have avoided my death and loss, and that I’m currently limited purely by my knowledge of the game and it’s systems. I’m nearly 100% positive, that had I been more familiar with the game, and how it is played, I could have skipped over this whole mess. For me, that’s the best thing about this game, I can do whatever I want, and am primarily limited by my knowledge of the game itself. I’m going to have to look into what it is that I did wrong, or just didn’t do right, and correct for it. In the end, I only lost a bit of money and the time it’s going to take me to repurchase and fit my ship, but what I learn will save me money, time, and frustration in the long run, as well as teaching me a tactic to use myself. As far as I’m concerned, that’s the essence of what playing EVE is about, having fun, and always learning.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

6 Responses to What playing EVE means

  1. Werit says:

    I use a shuttle when braving a possible gate camp. They are usually too quick for the enemy to lock on to.

    • shadowwar says:

      It’s hard to know when a gate is going to be camped unless you do recon ahead of time though. I always warp to zero on a gate, and immediately jump.

      That said, I did ask around on the forums, and it seems as if they were smart-bombing, which is how they were able to lock on before I could warp.

      My biggest complaint with EVE, is that there seems to be no combat log. All hard information displays in pop-up form, with no history to research where you messed up, or what actually happened.

      • Mr Meh says:

        Tehe. That’s cause EVE is extremely macro friendly. Not that they advocate it, and they even threaten to ban, but almost all your veteran players use it. Especially in combat.

        No those pirates don’t just sit there for hours with their eyes fixed on local. They have macro that autolock and blows you to pieces.

        Use a shuttle it faster and more agile than your pod.

        Navigation skills are so important and usually overlooked too often. Spaceship command is apart of that. You should build up your learning base and your navigation. Boring but it is the key to the run.

        Skip destroyers. They are useful anti frig pvp ships and sometimes useful salvager. Frigs are for lvl 1s. You need cruisers for lvl 2s.

        If you are going to hang out in low sec, you need to get in with a Corp that controls the area. Otherwise that experience will be a daily experience.

        What area are you hanging in?

  2. Xerb says:

    Staying out of low sec and making the long runs like that in a shuttle is probably the best way to avoid that happening to you. I quit playing Eve the day I was ambushed and podded. I was completely broke and had no back up ships to speak of so it would have been a very long haul to buy and refit a ship. Eve is very unforgiving and it helps out a lot if you have a corp behind you.

  3. Werit says:

    Have you used the maps to see the amt of ships destroyed in the past hour? Sure it won’t help you if you’re the first victim in the system, but it has saved me quite a few times.

  4. Kirkbjerk says:

    If you’re out in 0.0 space, there are only a few bottle necks to get in and out of most regions. Scout these out when you can and setup bookmarks 100-150km (iirc) from the gates. This will allow you to warp to just within local range to see who is at the gate, but far from anyone targetting. Then if all is clear, you’re far enough away you can insta warp and jump.

    Another thing to keep in mind, bubble traps. If a warp bubble is set in the line of travel, you will be pulled from it and ganked instantly. Avoid this by setting up a bookmark that is not in line with the exit/entrance gates.

    An easy way to do this is to either warp to a moon, then to the gate. Or warp to the gate, drop warp before you get to gate (random), and then warp to another location (planet/moon etc) dropping warp again before you arrive. Set a bookmark here. This gives you a pretty random location, which is pretty much a safe spot. This way only people who are good at surveying could attempt to find you.

    A few tips I picked up when I was playing EVE. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

