Stupid Reunion

I resisted the urge to post a thematically weeker "Gabrielle Union" photo. Wishing I hadn't right now.

So, this weekend is my wife’s 10 year high school reunion. Seeing as how she helped plan and set this stuff up, she (and by association, I) is obligated to attend. Both days. The joy I have at spending my weekend with a bunch of strangers I don’t know, don’t care to know, and will probably never meet again is unmeasurable. There is no data-gathering tool that can examine something as small as my enthusiasm for this event. Still, with her reunion this weekend, and mine in some not-so-distant future, it has left me wondering about the people who come and go in our time in a game. Where do they go? Why’d the leave? Are they doing okay? Will I ever get my FLCL dvd’s back from them? Okay, that last one was a classmate from college who never returned my most-beloved of anime’s back to me, and I still loathe him to this day for it.

But you get my meaning.

Most of the time, when a person stops playing an MMO, it’s done quietly. They just unsub, and let it go. They might tell a person or two if they’re tight with their guild, but frequently, it’s just a fading away. Player X stops logging on, and four and a half days later, some asks, “Hey, you seen ‘X’ around? He hasn’t logged on lately.” Someone makes some non-committal, half-hearted noise of indiscriminate response, and then two days later, the subject gets broached again. People start to realize they’re gone, and then say something like, “Well, that sucks.” then get back to the game.

That’s how it’s always been in casual guilds I played in. They’ve usually been larger, with a big roster, so the loss of any one individual isn’t a huge blow. It happens, and not a lot of people outside of maybe a “core” group have heavy ties to the rest. I think this might be why I prefer smaller guilds as well, the people you play with you form a really close relationship with. If someone stops playing, it gets noticed. And quick. There is a personal connection in small guilds that just isn’t always there in larger ones.

Anyway (that’s my sign for when I get a multi-hour interruption in my post during the work day), playing with familiar faces is a common thread with a lot of people. It’s a part of the community aspect that is unique to the MMO genre, and it’s one reason why you so often see people move between games as groups, or look for people they used to play with when they come to another game. When you meet back up with them, it’s often like running into an old friend. You chat for a bit, make plans to meet up, and carry on from when you left off.  The community of the genre as a whole is increasing, but at times, I’m still surprised at how small it can be.

Enjoy your weekend everyone, I hope I’m able to get rip-roaring drunk to tolerate the most horrendous of events – a spouse’s highschool reunion. You lucky bastards get to play my second favorite SC – Blood of the Black Cairn.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

4 Responses to Stupid Reunion

  1. Wasdstomp says:

    I never had to go to a spouse one. I timed my divorces just perfect.

    I have to say going to them single is definitely fun.

  2. Charlotte says:

    My fiancé and I went to the same high school, so bullet dodged there!

    I completely understand what you’re saying, and my friendship with Aravista is a perfect example. We lost contact for a few months, and when we ran back into each other it was like we had never been apart. Just got off the phone with her too! 😀

  3. Jomu says:

    i’m sorry for your loss…errr having to go to the reunion.. I don’t plan on going to mine if they have one. Don’t care for those people 😛

    i know exactly how you feel about the people you don’t see online for a few days which means they’re quit; my best friend is always like that. Plays so much until he’s burnt out and suddenly quits 😥

  4. Erbse says:

    I recently found myself to be in my social phase, which usually only occurs once a year, if not less than that. I’ve started to holler at old people that were still on MSN / ICQ lists, as I never cleaned those up, and started getting them on my facebook to keep in touch easier. Now I can say Facebook finally proved itself useful for at least something.

    As far as War and quitting is concerned, I can’t bring myself to logging in anymore quite frankly. I haven’t in days, if not weeks if you exclude the 2-3 hours I spent ingame over that amount of time. No progression kills me, I beat Warhammer as things currently are.

    Now, I’m not someone to go quietly, but also none to make a commotion, so once it’s official most people would get informed before hand.

    As far as your super excitement weekend is concerned, I think I can relate. The feeling of not belonging and the ‘I shouldn’t be here’ that repeatedly echoes through my head causing obscene headaches is standard whenever I enter about any bar or club 😀

Leave a Reply

