No Addons, experiment continued

Okay, so, per a reader’s suggestions, I’m giving another video site a twirl. Looks like it all worked out this time, so lets see how it goes.

Well, apparently, HTML doesn’t work with wordpress, or something. So, I’m going to have to figure something else out.

Grrr, I hate stuff like this. I just want it to work.

Update: I did some trickery with my rendering of my video that I think may be a solution, and sent the newly rendered video to YouTube before I left the house this morning. I’m hoping it will be done by the time I get home. I’m freakin’ resolved to solve this. If I have to go to a pay site, I may do that. Or figure out how the hell to get imbedded videos to work via HTML in WordPress.

Update2: Reading is WIN. I never noticed the little HTML tab in the top right corner. Apparently, WordPress uses a WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) interface. Despite it’s ridiculous name it makes sense. Anyway, that’s the video, I hope it work, don’t think I’ll be able to check it from work.

Update3: NM, still not working. Anger building.

Update4: Okay, I’m going to put a link to the video for now. It might require you to sign up for some free “to play” thing, which is what I was trying to avoid. I hate signing up for crap on line that gets me more junkmail, and I don’t want anyone who reads here to do so. So, if you don’t want to, don’t stress it, I’m going to figure this out. Also, if you know how to get wordpress to recognized the HTML code for an embedded flashplayer, feel free to chime in.

 [megavideo=http://www.megavideo.com/?v=21R9S9Z2]

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

2 Responses to No Addons, experiment continued

  1. Erbse says:

    Some information, I ran into the same problem you did, unable to Embed the video in an actual post. I contacted WordPress themselves and suggested using an add-on I found elsewhere, which was a PHP file enabling you to do exactly that, however it only worked if you used the WordPress Blog thingy for and on your own webspace rather than the free stuff provided from WordPress.com.

    In response to that mail they advised me to check out ‘Vodpod’, so I did, but never could make it work either, so I gave up on the endeavor and ‘merely’ posted links as well.

    On another note which might be of interest, by changing the URL from Megavideo to Megaupload in your link you can download the actual file (for those that want / care), at least if you uploaded the video by using megaupload initially rather than megavideo.

    A last direction I’d have to offer would be X-Fire, Phinix uses that I think. I tried it but much like Youtube it only accepts 10 minutes of footage maximum, so it wasn’t an option for me. I don’t know if the post including would work in this case either, chances are it’d not though.

    Lastly, 1gb filesize for 6-7 minute footage seems a tad too much, also to my knowledge megavideo plays back just fine, no need for any sort of signing up whatsoever, mere Internet deathtraps you find about anyway ;D

    • shadowwar says:

      It’s probably that large because of the quality of the film. I’ll poke about the rest of the suggestions you made and see what I come up with. I may just have to bite the bullet and get a paid storage sight like what Werit went with if I want to have the combination of quality, freedom, and ease of use.

Leave a Reply

