Video Frustrations

I finished rendering my video for my Witch Elf yesterday morning. Last night, I queued up YouTube to upload the 6 and a-half minute video. The file size is only 1.09 GB, but for some reason, YouTube converts that to 1.9 GB. Either way, I wake up this morning, happy to see that the video is done, but damn you YouTube, you rejected my audio! My audio is part me talking and part a song. A song that I ripped from a CD I own. I hate you for being a retarded service. I understand you’re protecting your own ass, but this kind of crap is an annoyance.

So yeah, I’m looking for a video host that’s not YouTube where I don’t have to deal with this crap. Free is preferable. Vimeo will not work, 500 MB per week is far too little.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

10 Responses to Video Frustrations

  1. Werit says:

    So far, I have found no perfect solution. Youtube still provides for the largest video and decent quality. Other hosts you will have to make sacrifices unless you get your own server.

  2. Erbse says:

    Try Megavideo, it appears to be a lot more anonymous though.

    Last thing I uploaded was my 1 gig 20minute Eataine HD footage, no complaints till this day.

    http://www.megavideo.com/?d=SPRRLQ05

    • shadowwar says:

      My biggest complaint is the audio thing. I’m okay with the upload time, I’m *mostly* content with the image quality, it’s just there damn need to police every audio file I attach to any video.

      Maybe I’m just too old-school to understand their regulations and limitations, but it’s a major PITA to go through my music library, pick a song, upload the video, then have to do it all over again AFTER I uploaded.

      • Erbse says:

        Well, complaints go to BMG / Sony and what not for blaming rips and copies for their ‘not so good yearly revenue’, which naturally just sky rocketed again.

        Still, Megaupload to my knowledge doesn’t check much for these things. In my Video I used 3-4 different songs which aren’t necessarily underground or unknown (I’d say), I however wouldn’t know if they’re part of those Youtube would be blocking.

      • shadowwar says:

        Good to know, I’ll check it out when I get home.

      • Erbse says:

        Rule of thumb with Youtube is, if you listen to mainstream / chart music, don’t even bother. All major labels call dibs on their possession on there.

  3. Anromir says:

    As another option, don’t use music by people that want to protect their copyright. Have a look at something like http://mobygratis.com/film-music.html or the sites listed at http://creativecommons.org/legalmusicforvideos . Those all have either free for non-profit user or other creative commons licenses that you won’t have to mess with.

    Personally, I don’t understand the need to put Pantera, or Enya, or whoever on a FRAPS video. That kind of music doesn’t work well as soundtrack over action. It’s almost as bad as the music MySpace lets people put on their pages.

    • shadowwar says:

      Haha. I was actually using a song by Muse, called “Resistance”. But yeah, a lot of stuff doesn’t work well, however, when I own it, I believe I have the rights to use it for any non-profit manner I desire. I could be wrong though.

      • Anromir says:

        There’s not a lot of law out there which puts down solid definition of fair use in the realm of digital copying. The short trip through it is that if you by a CD or a book, you have the rights to do as you please with that one copy of it (lend it, make backups, sell it, etc). But there’s no law which says whether remixing or redistributing it in a derivative way (in a video which does not earn someone money) is legal or not. Until there is such a law, douchebag publishers are going to push things as far as they can.

  4. Wasdstomp says:

    I purchased a beat from a site, and put it on one of my videos. I thought okay it is just a beat. It was actually a beat that sounded similar to Supertramp. I owned the copyright when I bought the beat. Youtube obviously thought otherwise. I could of fought it, but I just wanted the video uploaded so I switched it to one of the stupid audio swap songs.

Leave a Reply

