Way of the Buffalo

I don’t often venture into F2P MMOs, in fact, the only one I can think of that I played was the revamped DDO. That said, I do have a co-worker who I know plays MMOs of the F2P variety, and she has had two mainstays. Cabal Online, and Rose. Value judgements of her chosen sub-genre of gaming, I had bad news to report to her. Cabal Online is closing down. To be frank, I don’t care for the pricing model these types of games represent, but there is obviously a market for them, and I feel bad every time I see a game that people play getting shut down.

So for our misguided F2P-gaming brethren, a moment of silence as one of their rank and file is shot with a rifle from the side of a train.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

2 Responses to Way of the Buffalo

  1. Erbse says:

    I never could get myself in Cabal Online, in fact I found it rather bad, gameplay wise as well as graphically. It’s odd though, I’ve played F2P games older than Cabal that are still around today, I figure whoever was in charge of Cabal got too greedy and his own system broke his neck in the end. I also remember the game had quite some hype when it first came out.

    I think I quit Rose Online when it first became P2P, right after its beta phase back in way too long ago for me to remember. It was an odd game from what I remember, but came fairly close to my oh so beloved Priston Tale.

    • shadowwar says:

      Yeah, I’ve never actually played them myself, so I can’t really comment on the specifics. I just found myself in an odd state between happiness at seeing the death creep of a business model I despise, and sadness at the loss of another game in the genre.

Leave a Reply

