A Revitalization?

I just got an email from another new WAR blogger. On top of being happy to add him to my blog roll, and send a link his way for you guys, the proximity of revelations for some new blogs of late has really got me thinking. WAR started out with a massive community following. The number of people eager to blog, talk, chat, and commune with each other in general over this particular MMO has always been one of the great appeals for me. It’s also always impressed me the per-capita participation. Within the last month or so, I’ve seen three brand new WAR-specific bloggers join the fray, just from the top of my head. Despite my near omnipotence, I’m sure there are others that I have missed, overlooked, or somehow forgot about. Seeing one person start could be chance, two could be serendipity, but three, three people make it a conspiracy. A conspiracy of revival.

I constantly read from a very vocal membership of both the official forums and the alliance forums about how the game is dieing. It’s on its death legs. It won’t last the year. Mythic is full of fail, and are killing their game with terrible decisions. I read these perceptions all day at work (I’m a bad, bad person), and then, when I get home I log on, and instantly find a fight. Without fail, or hesitation, I find someone to murder. Whether it’s in a lake, or a scenario, enemies line up to cross swords. Commonly, there’s more than just a few. I’ve noticed people hopping onto the forums to tell us they’re coming back, or interested in coming back. As you’re probably aware, only a small portion of players participate in the forums, so for every one person who makes a thread about it, there are probably people who do so quietly.

An increase in bloggers and a rise in forum participation and “return” threads are great, but we also have other indicators to show that WAR may really be getting its second wind. Above just the success of the infinite trial, the last PTS had a developer (I believe Carrie?) telling us how happy they are over current subscriber numbers, in part because of a significant increase. It’s hard to tell for sure from these sessions due to the limited nature of the conversation, but I am guessing that pleasure comes from actual paying subscribers and the turn-over rate of people going to a complete subscription. It could be that Mythic is just happy to have people in-game, playing. The saying in sales of, “Half the work is getting the product in the customer’s hands” usually rings pretty true.

No matter what comes of everything though, whether WAR really is facing a revival, or if it has hit a plateau, I’m happy. I really enjoy the game as it currently stands, and will continue to do so, even if nothing were to change. I hope for increase in the future, and that what I see happening is more than my wishes affecting my perception.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

14 Responses to A Revitalization?

  1. Jomu says:

    oh add me to your general gaming if you like 🙂

    http://www.justonemoreunlock.blogspot.com

    are you going to get the stein?

    • shadowwar says:

      Gladly!

      And probably will not get the stein, $100 to throw down for that is pricey, and not something I could convince the wife of I think.

  2. theerivs says:

    I hate you, WAR just keeps calling me, I must resist..I must. Though STO is full of fail, I might just dust of the Chosen yet.

  3. Slurms says:

    “or interested in coming back”

    I was actually looking at the endless trial page last night…

  4. Chris says:

    I’ve had the thought of coming back again and try it out for another month, after trying out a couple of other mmo’s, I forgot I how much I do like the pvp.

  5. Alex says:

    I completely agree, and this is coming from the viewpoint of one of those returning bloggers. To be quite honest when I finally got around to turning the game back on, I was blown away by the strength of the community. I don’t really know what I was expecting, but this was not it in the slightest. I’m looking forward to the future of WAR with renewed vigor, as am I equally excited to be writing about it.

  6. Pingback: Blown away « WARgames

  7. Chris says:

    I did the endless trail thing last night just to get my feet wet. A lot has changed, I didn’t realise that the starter areas were merged. I think I’m gonna pick up a game card on the way home from work. I have a level 32 Engineer…somewhere. I don’t think my old server is alive anymore. Do you have any server recomendations?

    • shadowwar says:

      I have only been playing on Gorfang recently. Iron Rock (where my destro is) has had to fall by the wayside due to real life stuff limiting time (darn kids!). I love the Gorfang community myself, but right now, Order is steamrolling everywhere. The server itself is pretty well balanced, but Destro has a serious morale problem.

      People who play on Volkomar proclaim it’s superiority to others, but I don’t know for sure. My guild I’m in is actually a transfer from there from way back in the day, and they left due to a sevre lack of actual RvR.

      Anyone from servers other than Gorfang want to chime in?

      • TzuDevil says:

        Badlands is the biggest server, and very balanced (though Order has the edge during prime time at the moment). It has a very mixed community, with some great warband leaders, and it’s share of asshats. It is particularly odd because during the server mergers, we got a big influx from the PvP servers, AND the Role Playing server… which makes for a strange “feel” some nights.

        Cheers!

  8. Chris says:

    I resubed on Friday. Having a pretty good time on a Slayer. I like how they redid the fortreses with the second ramp. I’ll be sticking around for awhile it looks like.

  9. Rahamatata says:

    After the Aion-fail month, the endless farming in WoW or the afking in EvE, Warhammer rly seems like the best option for me atm.

Leave a Reply

