Ubi-fail

Yeah.

Look, I’m all for buying of games, not pirating them, and playing them if you enjoy them. That said, reasons like this are a big part of why I almost exclusively play MMOs only on my PC and everything else on my console. The DRM issue has alway been a battle line between gamers and producers. Piracy is a problem, but DRM is not a solution. It provides hurdles and speed bumps, but only delays the inevitable. A solution, by definition, fixes an issues and prevents it from happening.

I hate to say it, but if you want people to stop stealing your games, sell them for less. Games are expensive, and that’s a big portion of the reason why people pirate them. Hell, it’s why I only buy used games for my consoles. No way in hell will I ever drop $60 for a brand new game when I can wait a few months and get it for half that.

To quote Tycho from Penny Arcade, “And no-one of any sense has ever bet against the scorn and resourcefulness of young men.”

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Ubi-fail

  1. Slurms says:

    Wow,…thanks Ubisoft! Guess I’ll be skipping on R.U.S.E.

    “No way in hell will I ever drop $60 for a brand new game when I can wait a few months and get it for half that”

    Agreed

    A big reason I still have a hard time buying console games is because I never feel I get enough bang for my buck.

Leave a Reply

