Yesterday sucked, but the weekend rocked

The title says it all. My weekend was pretty amazing. My mother in law watched my daughter for most of it, so it gave me a good amount of free-time. I spent the majority of it on my PS3 actually. I finished off CoD4:MW (the first Modern Warfare, a used copy of MW2 is impossible to find), and traded it out for Killzone 2. Sunday, my Knight got to run through the palace and kill Tchar’zanek again. I walked out with the sovereign shoulders, and a bad-ass claymore. 95.7 DPS to this beast and stats that make me weep with joy.

So, yesterday, I was eager to take my new sword of devastation out into the field and put it to good use. Sadly, I didn’t get to log on till 9 PM EST, and I found myself face to face with a stage 1 attack on Altdorf, with a whopping 13 minutes left.

Woop. Eeeee.

It might not have been so bad if the attack had just started, or if it was 13 minutes left in the rebuilding stage, but no, it was in the first phase. When I zoned in, it was clear no stage 2 was happening. My guild was mostly just dicking around, on alts, not paying attention at all. It just got worse when the rebuilding phase hit. I spent 45 minutes of my time last night being bored out of my mind when I wasn’t frustrated beyond belief that no one was doing anything, playing as a unit, or being the usual competent cohesive unit I had come to know. The frustration of the night had a beautiful cap to it in the form of someone not paying attention to a loot roll.

A BW in our warband rolled need on a purple harbinger ring. It brings +37 strength along with it, not an insignificant amount. I asked him in chat why he rolled need on it, and he didn’t reply. Apparently the guy was on vent, and I have him muted. It turns out that he started cursing up a storm and pitching a fit, reinforcing my joy at having the guy on mute. Then someone says something along the lines of, “If you ask him nicely, he’ll probably hand it over.” completely missing the issue of the situation. Did I want the ring and would I have used it? You bet. So would others in the warband. I didn’t want to have it handed to me at the expense of everyone who needed it, because I had the attention and willingness to call him out on it. Eventually, he asked me if I wanted it, to which I told him to just keep it and pay more attention in the future.

I understand that we all play games here, and we play to have fun, but fun doesn’t mean bungling around like a near-sighted drunken monkey, completely oblivious to what is going on around you. I find myself continually and repeatedly disappointed by the actions of people, which is sad to me because I like to hold a higher regard for the general populace.

Maybe today will be better.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

8 Responses to Yesterday sucked, but the weekend rocked

  1. theerivs says:

    You need a hug big guy?

  2. Mythic Andy says:

    Sounds like someone will need to be in the early preview/testing group for the upcoming 1.3.5 city changes…

  3. Mr. Meh says:

    Well atleast when my guild logs off T4 because of a city siege we atleast all get together to do something else.

    Nothings funnier then running Sc premades in T2 and T3.

  4. Jomu says:

    surrrreeeeee he didn’t notice it was a strength ring 😛

Leave a Reply

