The Hotness

I just actually read through the newsletter that WAR sent out for this coming month. The letter covers a variety of subjects from the patch, to the live event, and the oh-so-surprising Scurvy Dogs scenario (Werit Holmes, can I get a “Boo-ya-ka-sha!”?). And while these things are neat, nifty, and spiffy. I want to talk about one particular aspect of the newsletter that really stokes my fire. It was a particular mention in regards to Scurvy Dogs, the details, if you will.

“Be blasted into the air by sea mines in 6 vs. 6 close-quarters combat. Gyrocopters and Zeppelins fight to dominate the skies as you work with your team to control key areas on the Ironclad.

Become a dread pirate as you unlock the achievements within the Tome of Knowledge and see if you can earn the title “Dread Pirate”.  And if that doesn’t sate your appetite for booty, then 25% more medallions might put some wind in your sails!”

Notice the hot, hot bolded and underlined portions.

Yes, that is right my friends. Finally, a 6 vs. 6 scenario for level 40’s. I LOVED doing the 6 vs 6 Gates of Ekrund while leveling my Knight, and this will be so much better. As anyone who reads this blog regularly knows, I run exclusively in a premade, and our number one priority is scenario play. So I feel as if this particular content addition is a hand crafted incentive plan for my guild and I. I for one am incredibly happy to have a new scenario to play in. It’s a new option (Options are good!) and throws some variety into the pot.

Couple this with the new weapon currency system designed primarily for scenarios, and a lot of possible results. A new 6 vs 6 scenario will be good for puggers and premades alike. Most premades run as a full group, so there are even odds that a group of pugs will end up against another group of pugs. Of course, it will hurt if the pugs land against a premade, but that’s no different from how it currently is. Only having room for one group means no fear of facing a double premade, or of one side having a premade plus pug. At best, it can increase pug enjoyability of premades, and at worst, it will be the same as it is now.

I think that this scenario and the new currency system will also entice a lot of players out of BO/zone flipping for renown whoring it up, and into scenarios. Being able to acquire up to warlord and sovereign equivalent weapons is far too good to pass up. The majority of players will never see the King instance in their current state, especially for Order considering how buggy the gearing-essential Warlord PQs are, so this is a huge boon to them. I also think that anything that can be achieved in this game through PvE needs to have an equivalent in PvP.

So, all in all, I look forward to the increase in scenario play. It may be selfish of me, but, meh, I don’t really care!

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

8 Responses to The Hotness

  1. zizlak says:

    The emphasis on scenario is not my kind of thing… They are just too badly designed.

    Closed quarters 6vs6..bombing hooray.. imo too tight even when I’m just reading the description.

    Hopefully the new scenario system makes it more likely that premades fight versus premades and pugs vs pugs. It’s no fun to farm or to be farmed constantly in a scenario. Yeah.. farming the enemy can give you some nice renown, but it’s just as exciting as BO-capturing and zone flipping.

    Gimme the fights, arrr!

    • shadowwar says:

      I love the design of the vast majority of scenarios. Thunder Valley being the major exception. As for the premade vs pugs thing, not long after I made my post about it, a dev on the officials stated they have no plans to implement that type of system.

  2. Werit says:

    Rumor has it that Thunder Valley may not be around much longer.

    I’m looking forward to it, but I will sometimes un in a premade too. Besides, you can get the new currency through world RvR too. So no one is forced to do anything.

    • shadowwar says:

      I heard the rumor as well. More like an allusion based on an ellipses to a response on the official forums from a dev.

      So we’ll see how it goes…

      But yeah, we’ll see how it goes as far as availability in/out of SCs. If it’s decent outside, but slower, I think it may be okay, that way people won’t feel forced to do SCs if they don’t want to. But a part of me wants it to be ONLY in SCs so the enemy will come fight me on the ground of my choosing.

      Like I said, being totaly selfish here.

  3. theerivs says:

    I’d like to ransack her booty.

  4. Brian Inman says:

    The 6v6 will be interesting. Will it make people de-zerg, and actually try to have a 6 man team like arenas in WoW?

    It seems to me though that the scenario is sounding like a Thunder valley revamp. If it is all about gyrocopters, zeppelins, and less about 1v1 fighting with your characters it won’t be too appealing.

    • shadowwar says:

      I think the notes about the copter and zeppelins were more flavor text than anything else. At most, they’ll be like the copters in the Thunder Valley SC.

Leave a Reply

