Thank goodness

I think the Christina Hendricks frenzy has finally died down, I only had a couple hundred hits the other day as opposed to the 8,000 I had at the peak. As cool as it was to see those high numbers for a bit, it actually led me to more dismay than elation. I knew they weren’t “real”, as in, they weren’t people interested in the content of my posts, or the greater community of gamers. It was some mere happenstance of preferential iconography that enticed the hordes to make my corner of networked computers a pit stop on their feverish hunt for the latest popular gossip.

With the settling of visitors to the status quo, I’m happy to return to the topic du jour: MMOs.

I got to play WAR for maybe an hour last night, and I surprisingly spent my entire time out in ORvR. It was a group plus spare of guildies, filled in with friends and alliance members. We quickly found us facing an interesting situation that happens far too rarely: only one pairing was open for contention. Order had locked the Empire/Chaos pairing and Destruction had done the same to the Elven one, warfare descended upon the oft-overlooked Dwarven/Greenskin lands, and Kadrin Valley in specific.

My elation at the situation couldn’t have been higher. As far as last zones go, Kadrin Valley is my favorite. The various sites and locales are breeding grounds for incredible fights, and the looped nature of the Objectives/Keeps means that attacks can always be coming from either direction. Icehearth is the perfect representation of the zone. It’s a singular moment in the design of the zone that encapsulates the essence of fighting for dominance. A tunnel from both directions funnels enemies to a bridge hovering above a chasm, the last defensible position, and being assaulted from in front and behind. When seeing the wash of red lines rapidly approaching, you know that a good time is soon to arrive.

The solution for the defender lies in one avenue only.

Attack.

Hit them hard and fast. The enemy expects you to lie in wait and let them bottleneck into your porcupine, hoping you’ll focus upon them so hard, that you ignore their secondary force rushing your healers behind you. The only chance at success and life is rush into the mix of the onrushers, pulling your healers with you, and destroying the feint before their other strike force can execute their hammer and anvil manuever. Let there be no escape, and no quarter for the enemy.

I got some of the battles recorded, and hope to get snippets here and there in the days and weeks to come. My only regret, was having to log off when my duaghter started to cry. My playtime is limited, but at least I can indulge in the hobby some by creating videos while holding the daughter in one arm.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Thank goodness

  1. Mr. Meh says:

    I love Icehearth. I have had so many great defenses there, it is probably my favorite BO of them all.

  2. theerivs says:

    I hate you, but I love you to. Everytime I read you I get a slight twinge to re up, and kill things in WAR

    • shadowwar says:

      I know. I’m trying to make more videos, so that others can vicariously enjoy the act of crushing skulls and meling faces.

      Enjoy your Klingon space negotiation!

Leave a Reply

