Patience, I no longer has it

Maybe it’s because I’m getting older. Maybe it’s because I’ve spent too much time in gaming communities. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen the same conversations rehashed ad nauseum that I have worn out any patience. Maybe I’m just tired from my daughter keeping me up nights, so I’m more on edge. Maybe because I haven’t been able to play hardly at all the last three weeks, I need some “decompress” time. Or maybe, just maybe, the person on the other side of forum really is just a moron.

Not too long ago, I wouldn’t feel frustrated by people who are completely unable to read and comprehend the logical talking points of a discussion. I wouldn’t feel the need to later deconstruct the same argument down into its various segmented components in trying to clarify in perfect simplicity why their counter-points do not apply. It the not-so-distant past, I would never have boggled at the complete ineptitude of other people to understand conceptual intent and implementation into a live system. The old me would never have pulled his hair out at the seemingly aggressive ignorance people present when faced with point-by-point comparisons that negates their earlier assertions.

I don’t know what it is, but I’m finding myself far less likely to let absurd comments go unchecked. I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing yet. On one hand, it feels great to see someone else resort to ad-hominem attacks, and unsubstantiated claims. On the other hand, I don’t truly achieve anything.

Oh well.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

16 Responses to Patience, I no longer has it

  1. Mr. Meh says:

    One: Going to any forum and expecting anything other than complete ignorance is …. in itself a circular reference.

    Two: I really want to know what just set you off. Link Please. Want to read it so bad.

  2. Snafzg says:

    You’re only going to find intelligent discussion on the Internet by wading through marshes of morons. Personally, I don’t even bother wasting my time on gaming forums anymore.

  3. Werit says:

    I think that urge will pass as your non-game life gets busier and kid(s) get older 🙂

  4. Castamere says:

    I don’t typically post on forums anymore because of the fact that I know I’m think skinned, let comments get to me, and may have a tendency to lash out.

    I find it much easier to laugh at the idiocies of your average forum goer by lurking than being an avid participant.

    BTW you’re no longer a soon-to-be father, change your About!

  5. Alastriona says:

    There are some people, especially on WHA, that seem to be painfully obtuse. No matter how clearly an argument is presented, they still persist in arguing their point, even if it has been destroyed. The amount of “LALALALA I can’t hear you” on that forum is mindblowing.

    For the record, I find your arguments to be well thought out and explained, so I share your feelings about these idiots.

    • Mr. Meh says:

      That’s true of any modern arguement. Not just forums, and especially not just gaming forums.

      “I have a point, and my objective is to scream it; despite your rationale or reasoning.”

      I also find your arguements well thought out and explained, Shadow, and they grant open opinions in your comments. Unlike my rants, which are just QQs with added comments about punching someone in the face. Which I stand behind.

  6. Chris says:

    My advisor use to refer to that as “proof by loud assertion”

  7. shadowwar says:

    Thanks guys.

    For the curious: thread.

    It’s all about nerfed buttons. You can see the point when I snap a bit, because I use giant, green, underlined letters. If you’re looking for the good heated debate, it probably starts about page three or four.

  8. Rer says:

    I can honestly say I just read every single page of that thread, and a few things come to mind.

    1) Christ my head hurts!
    2) People are stupid!
    3) I’m glad I quit WAR!
    4) Why the **** are people arguing over such a minute thing again?
    5) *Upon reaching page 3* I’m fairly certain we haven’t made an inch of progress from page 1’s argument, so why am I on page 3?
    6) *Upon reaching the end* Good god, I hope Global Agenda’s forums never become this ****ing retarded. The thread is OBVIOUSLY going nowhere fast. At least HiRez would have been smart enough to just close the damn thing by now.

  9. Grimnir says:

    To hit on a different point, lol…

    I think I stopped gaming entirely when my daughter was born until she was sleeping 12 hours a night uninterrupted. Nothing sucks harder than having to wake up 3-4 times a night to take care of the one thing that knows how to rip your heart out of your chest after you’ve spent far too long playing videogames.

    Once she starts sleeping a bit more at night, things get a lot easier. For now you must learn the ancient art of the ninja nap. Sleep in 2 hour periods 8 times a day, depending on your job you can sneak one in there. hehe…

    • shadowwar says:

      Haha! So true. It’s not so bad for me, as my wife got around 14 weeks of maternity leave. She’s eating the brunt of the sleeplessness during the week, and I force my way through it on the weekends. Though, I will say, the last three days have been nice, she actually slept for four and a half hours continuously last night!

  10. Grimnir says:

    4 times a day… bad at math. o.o

  11. erbsenbrei says:

    Ah, some classy trolling is a nice way to blow off ones steam, don’t frown and/or worry to much about it ;D

Leave a Reply

