Red light, green light

So, this weekend proved to be interesting for me in Warhammer. The server merge has resulted in a fair number of guildies coming back to play with us. By a fair number I mean 4 others, so we usually have at least a 5 man team. Especially nice, was the return of the guild leader (limited time I’m sure). We’ve been having a lot of fun running around as a group again, smashing in faces wherever we can. It felt like old times and a blasty-blast was had by all.

I haven’t asked him flat-out, but I think part of the reason for the guild leader’s return was to help find a guild for us to merge into. He was actually surprised that I hadn’t joined another guild in the interim. But whatever, my guildies are back and we’re moving together, wherever we go. So, the first night of the merger (maybe the second night, can’t recall) we all pulled our characters into a good guild called Run Like Hell, if you look at my blog-roll, you’ll notice that recently-returned fellow blogger Blazeric is in said guild. I left my SW behind in my old guild, and jumped into the new guild with my Knight (playtesting an RR80 SW left me severely wanting).  Along with me came our guildleader, a KotBS, an Archmage, a Brightwizard, and a Shadow Warrior. We joined up with them, played in their warbands and groups, mingled and seemed to be well-loved and liked by all. The start of a great merge by all accounts.

The next morning when we logged on, all of us had been g-kicked.

I checked my Knight to find I was un-guilded, and no longer able to use the new mount I had just dropped 150 gold on (glad I saved my old one). All without a so much as a “It’s not you, it’s me.” speech. I hopped in my old guilds vent to see if anyone was around, and sure enough, there was my guildies, and I set to talking to them about the situation. Sadly information is severely lacking in regards to what exactly went down, and led to the situation. Our Archmage was apparently logged in when it happened, and the guild leader merely sent her a tell saying, “Internal conflict”, then proceeded to shove all of us out the door.

Now, I’m not saying all of this to point fingers at RLH, and jeer them and accuse them of being dirty, rotten scoundrels. In fact, the funny thing is, I got multiple tells from multiple members the next day asking what happened. Most of them seemed bummed out by it, and were sad to see us leave. We were too. I don’t know what the details of the events were, and I probably never will. It really did kind of hurt our feelings the way it was handled more than the actions themselves. We weren’t even with them for 24 hours before they made a decision, and we were treated more like beggars at the door than friendly allies looking to find a new home.

To all of you RLH players, thank you for your kind words, and I hope you guys the best of luck on the battlefield.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

11 Responses to Red light, green light

  1. theerivs says:

    What server? I’m reupping my account, so my Chosen can hunt them down like the dogs they are.

    • shadowwar says:

      No, they’re good folks. But my Order is on Gorfang, my Destro is on Iron Rock. I’d love to see you on the other side of the line.

    • Blazeric says:

      I would like to see you try. 🙂

      • shadowwar says:

        Aura Knight bloggers: throw down!

        One, a despicable well of hatred, carrying the power of a god of perptual change, wisdom, and magic. The harbinger of a being whose thoughts and knowledge is so advanced, that a glimpse at the knoweldge it possess would destroy any mortals mind.

        The other, a shining paragon of Humanity. A leader in the dark days, a beacon of hope and a rally point for all soldiers in the war against the nefarious forces of chaos. Stalwart and true to his allies, and implaccable to his enemies.

        Let’s get it on! *DING! DING! DING!*

  2. Rer says:

    So is Volkmar gone now?

  3. Readda says:

    That’s pretty random, I guess any number of internal disputes could have been ongoing prior to you joining.

    I’m pretty lucky, in addition to a general good attitude and friendliness Ithilmar’s Chosen has been consistently huge since I joined them in the head-start period. We number about 400 at the moment, including alts, regularly run full guild warbands and when going for a king push we can have three alliance warbands all on vent.

    • shadowwar says:

      That’s an insane number of people. Jesus. I’ve always felt pretty lucky with my guilds as well. Before my current guild, the guild I was in was a large guild like yours, running multiple warbands at times. It was full of good people, and a great way to really get introduced to the game.

      Now, my guild is almost completely opposite from that. An incredibly small team of highly competitive, highly skilled players. The general gaming philosophy is almost identical between all of us, and it’s great. The only reason we’re looking for a new guild is the reality of how few we’ve become and some of the difficulties we now have in forming a group. That’s half the reason I’ve started playing my KotBS primarily instead of my SW. We need a tank more than a DPS.

  4. Blazeric says:

    To tell the truth I still don’t know what happened and why. Granted I haven’t even been back for a full week. I just logged on one day and saw hey blitz is in here then the next day hey blitz got kicked from the guild. I logged into vent and asked and they said something but I forget what because I have a horrible memory about stuff like that and plus I was in a SC when they told me. But I do wish you the best and hopefully no hard feelings and who knows our guild leader is random sometimes so who knows what will happen later on.

    Blazeric

    • shadowwar says:

      That’s basically the general impression I’ve got from everyone I talked to. Not really sure what happened, sorry to see us go, it really sucks and that’s very random. We definitely don’t hold anything against the general membership of RLH, that’s for sure. We don’t even know if it was Noten who made the decision, having no real insight to how your guild runs itself.

      /shrug

      Like you said, very, very random.

  5. Mr. Meh says:

    I had the same thing happen to us on Dark Crag last year with Altdorf Saints. And we weren’t a small guild at the time. We were the largest before moving from Chaos Waste.

    Same thing. GL went into some mysterious nerd rage and guild booted everyone. Deleted the guild website and killed the vent. (or changed the password)

    Have no idea what leads someone to do that.

Leave a Reply

