Oh God the Horror

WAR’s Korean Character models. 

Don’t touch the hair man!

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Oh God the Horror

  1. SynCaine says:

    It seems not only has EA pulled the dev plug on WAR, but GW has also given up caring about maintaining the IP within the game. Some of those are just… yikes.

    • shadowwar says:

      Everyone said that dark-elves were a bunch of emo cutters, but now in Korea, you can REALLY look the part!

      In all seriousness though, I agree with one part of what you said, the part about the IP. But seeing as how they are making new faces/hair/models, it means that some type of development is going on. Obviously, I don’t like the direction.

  2. Krosuss says:

    For some reason I can’t see the images you posted … but I can only imagine. (Big hair like Dragonball?)

    Really, does it matter how these look in Korea? They aren’t the models we are playing with. It’s a different gaming world over there and looking at what they like, the way our toons are modeled wouldn’t cut it over there. Take a look at Perfect World or Aion or Final Fantasy and you know what I mean.

    Any word on what the sub numbers are like over there?

    • shadowwar says:

      I don’t have any numbers at all. I’m not even 100% that the launch has finalized over there. I pay that little attention to the markets that don’t affect me. I just found this link through other links, and the awfulness of it hit me full in the face. My only concern is for like what happened in EQ2. They did different skins for the Asian market, then Western players BEGGED to have them ported over because they liked them so much. If it happens here, I’ll be unhappy.

      • Krosuss says:

        There’s been so much doom and gloom with WAR and the recent layoffs that I’d love to know how the game is being received in Korea. They are getting a much better game than we did initially. If it does well there it breathes in some new life.

        I wasn’t aware that happened with EQ2 … ugh. I’m guessing I can’t see these pics because I’m at work. I’ll check when I get home. Was it over at Massively?

      • shadowwar says:

        It’s actually directly from the Korean WARs website iirc.

  3. Pingback: Strap in, and lets go for a ride « Shadow-war

Leave a Reply

