Back Once More Into the Breach

With Thanksgiving over, and the return to my normal work and school schedule, I’m here to look at what it is I want to do with the last 30 some days left in the year of 2009 (as it relates to gaming that is). There are a few things that I really want to get done and finished as I make my way toward 2010, in both MMOs and in Single player games, console and PC. I got to play around with my current games enough this long weekend to really determine what to do with these remaining days.

Torchlight: I “beat” the main storyline as far as I can tell. I was in the high 30’s on my Avenger when I did so. Overall, the game is a lot of fun. Easy, but fun. I never died once, and it wasn’t till the very end that I started to really use potions (health or mana). I do have some more quests down in the southeast side of the village, and some more dungeons to crawl through, and I’ve started on that already. I really want to finish off that, or do research to see what that portion is all about by the end of December.

Champions: I really want to make that final push to 40. I’ve been slacking on it because I’ve been playing other games so insanely much, and I’ve been less than enthused with the end game, despite the recent Nemesis 5-man. I don’t know anyone in-game to do a 5-man with, because I’m unenthused to play. It’s a vicious circle.

Assassin’s Creed: I want to finish playing this. For some reason, I left it behind, unfinished. The gameplay does get a bit repetitive as you progress, but the story and visuals more than make up for it. I polished it off and killed one of my targets this weekend. It was good fun, and I remembered how much I loved the counter-kills with the short blade. Best. Kills. Ever.

Gemstone IV: I got an itch to play this again, and would really like to use this push to get to level 30 before January beings. I’m 26 right now, with 35k exp left. To the unfamiliar, that doesn’t sound like much, but that’s a hell of a push. Of all my goals, this is the least likely to happen I believe.

WAR: So much to do. I’ve gotten messages from a few players of different guilds asking if I was interested in running with them on my Shadow Warrior and seeing if we’re a good fit. I’m so out of the loop as it pertains to Order, I have no idea who’s who anymore really. Ask me who the top Destuction guilds/players are, and I could probably rattle off a list. Ask about my own side, and I’m left with my mouth hanging open, stammering for an answer. Wherever I go, I want to make sure that my Knight is welcome as well. He’s in full Annihilator gear, but he is a blast to play, and I really want to get him moving. So the goal for my Order characters: learn up about Order guilds, run with people, join a guild.

With my DoK, it’s pretty simple.

  1. Get Renown Rank 55.
  2. Wear Invader gear.
  3. ?
  4. Profit!

I’m thinking the step to #3 is: Rape more face as melee. My other goal is to convince my Destro guild that AutoFocus is a bad addon. One that is great for mediocre players, but is a crutch that is relied upon too often, and the drawbacks of it are too much of a hinderance. My outlooks on this addon are enough for a post in and of itself, so I might do that later this week.

So, that’s my plan. It’s probably far too ambitions, especially since I have to do a good deal of classwork still as I speed towards finals. I like to set my goals high, and fall short rather than set them low and be left with nothing to do.

Any of you guys out there have plans or goals? Am I super-anal for even making a list like this? My wife says I’m a tight-ass, and she’s right, but I think maybe listing events for my virtual leisure time might have taken it too far.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

5 Responses to Back Once More Into the Breach

  1. Mr. Meh says:

    I love how you inserted a picture of English Knights on Scotland’s favorite holiday, St. Andrew’s Day.

  2. Tyrhoor says:

    I try to make goals for myself… right before I quit WAR I had a few goals.

    1. All dwarf careers to 40. (Fail. 2 made it).
    2. Earn RR 55 with my Ironbreaker (Almost killed me.. but I did it).
    3. Clear Lost Vale (HAH, barely made it by the spider queen…)
    4. Actually go to Land of the Dead (HAH… right).

    Goals are good, they keep you self-motivated when the game fails to do so. Or they just add more layers to a game that is keeping you well satisfied.

  3. Pingback: 2010, Welcome Back! « Shadow-war

Leave a Reply

