Crushing Will

My will to play my Shadow Warrior that is. I can live with being underpowered, I can live with being the red-headed step-child of the game. I can live being a joke to the opposition. What I can’t live with, is not having a crew of people to play with. My guild leader hasn’t logged on in a week, and for the past two months or so, I can count on one hand when had a full group of players around. Don’t take this as a doom and gloom post about subscription numbers. It’s necessary to understand that my guild has never had more than about 10 to 12 members in the guild at a time. We have been a small, skilled, mean-as-hell strike force. But when people stop logging on, each person is felt more as they represent a larger percentage of the total. I’ve been getting by with playing my DoK a lot more lately, but my SW is really my true love in this game, despite all its flaws, and I hate settling.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Crushing Will

  1. Mr. Meh says:

    I’m dealing with a similar issue with my guild.

    We were once a set of 6 to 12 man group with multiple alts to make premades when needed. Now we are at best 2 to 3 of us online at a time.Our Alliance is also in the same boat. We reorganized so to pickup other guilds from dead alliances. But with we have so few people, that organizing anything is hard to do.

    Last night I was offered to come join another guild one with heavily active players, but I am hesitant to leave behind the few I have been with so long.

    • shadowwar says:

      I feel you on that. The kicker for me, is that I have never played with a group of people who I mesh with so well in a competitive team manner. The playstyle and gaming philosphy of my current guild is so similar to my own that it’s disturbing at times, and I really wonder if I could find that elsewhere.

  2. Brian Inman says:

    I feel your pain Shadow. I ran with a zerg guild in WAR, and now not even one other person out of a 1500 man guild logs into the game.

    I resubbed, but I am finding it very lonely on Dark Crag. It is just random pug scenarios, and people running TOVL. Open RvR seems pretty dead for Order.

    I can just pray for server mergers soon I guess, or some great marketing scheme that brings back players by the boatloads.

    • Mr. Meh says:

      Oh, you are like me on Phoenix Throne. Our servers are special. Mythic has said or “special rules” servers will never merge.

      So, the only way our servers will get that merge option is probably years from now.

      It’s sad we don’t have open ability to transfer toons like we should. Even if it did cost money.

  3. Alastriona says:

    If you’re looking for people to run around with for scenarios/RvR whatever, look up Chainsaws. He’s always looking for more people to run with. He may be a slightly psycho French-Canadian, but he’s a pretty damn good healer.

    (Also, I feel you on the desire to play an SW. Mine is starting to gather a little bit of dust. It’s just not as much fun as it was. I think I’ve got a bit of alt-itis at the moment though, so that’s adding to it.)

  4. CMK says:

    Does your guild leader read this blog? Do you have any way of contacting him? Maybe you should get the lowdown from him – express your concerns and your hope that things will pick up again.

    • shadowwar says:

      I know why he’s not playing. He’s got two RR80s, one in full Warlord, the other damn near if it isn’t. He’s got nothing to do in game, and I don’t blame him for not rolling an alt. We all kind of saw it coming, but doesn’t make it suck any less. Either way, our guild has never been “Guild Leader does everything” type. Everyone in the guild is an officer, the problem is that pretty much noone is playing. There are three of us that log on semi-regularly, but when we see noone around, we’ll usually log after 45 min or so as far as I can tell.

      /shrug

Leave a Reply

