What a difference a tweak makes

As some of you may have noticed, I haven’t been playing champions as much as I used to. If I’m not talking about it as much, it means I’m  not paying attention to it as much. However, last night, while waiting for my wife to get home from work, I sat down to Champions. The main detractor for me of late had been a two-pronged issue. Firstly, my performance took a nose dive on the patch that happened after the one on launch day. Secondly, my main has run out of quests to do. I had kept reading continually that quests were being added, especially for the 30s bracket, and I was in the mood to do some options fiddling. I’ll also admit, that the video I linked to yesterday had sparked some rekindled interest in my homage to Advent Rising in the form of a hero named Gideon.

So, sitting in my chair, the glow of my monitor basking my face with all it’s LCD goodness, I launched the patcher, and was soon into character select. I jump into the game with Gideon my Force hero, and immediately start fiddling with settings. The “recommended” is crap performance, around 15-17 FPS, and dropping down from there makes the game look like amorphous blobs of goo. The slider really blows, as there is in reality only three settings (low, recommended, and high). So, with hope, I click on the “show advanced settings” and get to fiddling. After about 10 minutes of adjusting sliders up and down, turning options on and off, I had found no individual choice that improved my performance. After 11 minutes, I had. There was one option, and I don’t even remember what it’s called, but it handles the shadows from creases and folds in stuff. I turned it off, and visually, very little had changed, but HOLY SHIT 35-47 FPS. It was like the Holy Grail of graphics settings was laying in wait for me to, er… smash (this analogy is going very wrong), and solved all my problems. I started jumping around in smooth arcs, and enjoyed crisp reaction time.

Mmmm, delicious.

So, I got to play for about 30 more minutes, even did an arena match. It kept being smooth. I have to say, I am much happier now to be playing than I was a week ago. Also, force eruption looks amazing, giant blue circles of concussive force expanding out from the hero, pretty awesome. The power set that I linked to yesterday isn’t going to what I use exactly, but I’m going to go pretty close I think, and am definitely doing the Endurance/Recovery build for insane Alpha Strike stuff.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

5 Responses to What a difference a tweak makes

  1. Scarybooster says:

    After the choppiness of the headstart, I was turned off by the game. Maybe, if they come out with a free trial I will give CO a try and take your advice and turn that off

  2. pitrelli says:

    Im much the same, although I even cancelled my pre order. I think its one I’ll drop into after its settled and added more content, I’ll also have a new rig in the near future and will be able to play on high settings instead of medium.

  3. Castamere says:

    The wife and I are slowly becoming a wrecking ball. She’s doing Fire Form so she’s PRE/CON and I am END/CON doing Energy Form from Electricity. She’s laying on the Fire/Toxic damage and I’m doing the Electric/Particle damage. Chest Beam is quite sickening with its ability to debuff all damage to a target for a few seconds. Layer that with Placate, perhaps a Laser Sword with the advantage, and you have a Master Villain or Super Villain (haven’t tangoed with a Legendary yet) that is going DOWN. And we’re running around in Avenger stance no less, so the damage is pretty damn high.

    However I’m more jazzed about the Fallen Earth Halloween event so going to have to kill some zombies to have my sawed-off shotgun and gas mask. With Dragon Age/Borderlands/Torchlight all around the bend gaming is as good as it gets right now.

  4. CMK says:

    I might have to try this. Although my framerate is constantly around 40-50.

    What level are you up to with Gideon?

Leave a Reply

