Squeeeee

shadowknightTwo hour Heroes season premier last night. It was great. I loved it. Also, season premier of House last night. I DVR’d it. I love the fact that the shows I watch are smartly sandwiched into different “season” slots. Though, with BSG over and done, one end is lop-sidedly light. Burn Notice stands all alone in the summer slot. I’m now down to five shows that I watch through the entire year. Burn Notice, Eureka, 24, Heroes, and House. They’re usually staggered enough that they don’t interfere with each other, and since I got the DVR it has made watching tv such a pleasure. I really didn’t believe how great a tool it would be for my leisure time. I imagine I’ll appreciate it even more once the kid arrives.

Oh, and I played some EQ2 last night. It was great, like putting on a comfortable pair of pants. I at first betrayed my SK over to Paladin (from his quasi-betrayed state in Haven), and realized that was a terrible, terrible mistake. Even though I played him as a paladin for the first 50 levels or so, the SK really is more for me and my playstyle. So I instantly betrayed back. Yes, I spent almost my entire night getting right back to where I started. Still, it felt good, and the game looks amazing. I can’t get over how good the game still looks. Back when I originally played, my computer couldn’t handle the graphics, now it can, and it’s brilliant. I’m already starting to tear through forums and trying to find out best gear progression to look forward too, and I’ve started working on my loam gathering to make adept 3’s of all my spells, so that I can THEN start using the researcher to get me the master versions of them.

Yes, EQ2 is a deep game. Very, very deep. It’s a great contrast to the fun, fast-paced, instant gratification of Champions.

Still missing my PvP though. My fingers are twitching for some face smashing, brain pounding, blood-letting goodness.

/sigh

Can’t have it all I guess.

Edit: Dear Lord above, you can tell it was early when I wrote this, typos abounded, hopefully all corrected now.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Squeeeee

  1. Castamere says:

    Have they implemented the snazzy new Shader changes that were going to have a huge effect on lighting and stuff in game? I really liked EQ2 but eventually petered on it due to chronic altism that lead to newbie zone burnout.

    • shadowwar says:

      I’m not 100% sure. I know on my old rig, I could never have dynamic lighting on really, so all of my armor always looked flat and dull. Now it seems like there is crazy light, horizons have insane bloom effects, and the world itself is really attractive. I’ll take some screen caps of the Kunark world when I get home tonight and post them up here.

    • Griss says:

      Nope – still on original shader model 1.
      I would guess that the upgrade to shader 3.0 will almost certainly come in an update just prior to the next expansion release in Feb of 2010.

Leave a Reply

