Frustrations

I’ve been trying for days now to upload properly my video of Munitions character from CO. It seems I’m rather unlucky in that I have a monitor that is 5 years old now, and most definitely not a widescreen. I run at 1280×1024, which seems to be an “odd” ratio in terms of video. For whatever reason, the video I’m trying to make with Windows Movie Maker keeps ending up squished from the sides whenever I render it into an HD format, as if it’s trying to make it widescreen by default, and there are no settings to change it in WMM. The actual recorded bits end up narrow and elongated, looking like crap. I don’t know what I’m doing different now from before, but it’s a slow process of render, then upload to youtube to see if it looks right. If I can’t get it to work, I’ll see if I can get a good compression with Sony Vegas. Vegas is a far more powerful program, and I adore the editing portion of the software, but the rendering aspects I have almost zero skill in.

Oh, and here’s a screencap of the one costume request I got 😉

TF2’s engineer. I was frustrated to see that there were no overalls options, and I couldn’t make one hand have a glove and the other be empty. The system does have it’s limitations I suppose, and once I realized that my desire to morph the body to a more accurate physical representation of the Engineer vaporized. Maybe I’ll try the scout next, or the sniper. I think I have some ideas for how to get them done a little more accurately.

screenshot_2009-09-09-21-31-19

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Frustrations

  1. canazza says:

    I thought that the default Chest-wear kevlar vest would have done, if not exactly the same then it’s better than a bare chest 🙂
    Also, you can get a Kukri knife for the Sniper from Arms, oh, and a sniper rifle.
    They need a Jarate power-replacer for grenades too 🙂

  2. Castamere says:

    Canazza’s got a great idea, doing one of the kevlar vests and making it match your pant color would probably work. There’s also suspenders in the chest wear area, not exactly overalls but can maybe help in a pinch?

    I have seen a Sniper and a Demolition guy. A Heavy would be cool – I guess you could do a lot of Might stuff and then take the Gatling Gun from Munitions as your primary ranged power.

    • shadowwar says:

      I’m really wondering if I could pull off a Pyro now. Maybe not with the weapon, but maybe the rest of the outfit…

Leave a Reply

