I said I would, so I am

Slurms, our favorite party slug, asked for it. So here I am, giving him some of it.

Screenshots that is, of Champions. I took a fair amount over the last couple of days, mostly of myself because I’m a narcissist like that, but I’m here to highlight some of the diversity of the character creator. All of my creation’s in this instance will be all erect humanoids. Enjoy.

 

Not mine, but awesome.

Not mine, but awesome.

 
Psimon is such a panzy.

Psimon is such a panzy.

 
Ummm... jk?

Ummm... jk?

 
 
 

Energy Shield.

Energy Shield.

 
Laser Knight

Laser Knight

 
BOOM, headshot

BOOM, headshot

 
 
CO-0007

 

Atmospheric effects looked good on this hero.

Atmospheric effects looked good on this hero.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

8 Responses to I said I would, so I am

  1. Slurms says:

    Those are awesome!

    Even after I played beta and ended up not really enjoying myself, I still see screens and say, “MAN I wanna play that!!”

  2. razsk says:

    Cryptic is really putting the graphics engine to good use. Check out the blur details of the energy shield.

    To bad the game does not support the Nvidia 3D Vision shutter glasses (yet).

    • shadowwar says:

      Absolutely, you can especially see this in the distortion of my power-armored hero’s leg in the frontal shot I have of him floating with the shield out.

      • canazza says:

        Force Shield has a similar thing, except it’s like a whole frosted circle (rather than segmented), it’s also projected in front so you get the whole hero distored 😀

    • razsk says:

      I just found out that Champions Online runs fine with Nvidia 3D Vision shutter glasses. You just have to run the game in fullscreen mode (My screen was set to maximized which is not the same).

  3. jdtreece says:

    These screenshots *really* make me want to give this a shot.

  4. Castamere says:

    Is the power Psimon uses in game in the TK or Telepathy line? The one where I assume he’s controlling the big psychic demon he’s suspended in? That’s kinda-sorta badass.

    • shadowwar says:

      As far as I can tell, it’s not in game for players. It’s more like he created a giant ape-suit, telekinetically, to pound on me. It was one of the better in-game fights.

      Before Psimon, I had to kill medussa, and she made telekinetic dopplegangers of herself. That was far more difficult to beat than the giant ape-suit.

Leave a Reply

