First Comic?

AmazingFantasy15There was an interesting thread over at the Champions Online forums that I thought I’d bring here. Someone asked the community if they remembered the first comic book they ever read, and if so, what was it. I’d love to hear anyone here if they have a story to entertain. It’s always fun to wax nostalgic and look back to our formative years and fondly remember the events that have shaped us into who we are today. Your first comic-book read may not be as momentous as that, but for some people (myself included) it was, and it’s neat to hear the various stories.

Here’s mine:

My first comic was an old, old X-Men comic that I got from I have no idea where. It had the original X-team, Marvel Girl, Cyclops, Iceman, Beast, and Angel if I recall correctly. I found it when I was around 11 (circa 1992), I remember the cover was torn, and the smell of the rotting pages was something I would learn to recognize and love as I got older. The cover and spine of the comic were already in terrible condition, full of holes and whithered to a state of disaray. I was entranced by what was in front of me, the bold colors, the amazing stories, and the incredible artwork. Just the way that the panels were situated and techniques used to color, shade, and highlight astounded me. I read it so many times, that eventually the cover came completely off, but I kept the whole thing bundled in the pocket of a three-ring binder under my desk. I have no idea where that comic is now, I wish I did, but it’s probably been lost to the many moves throughout the years across the country.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to First Comic?

  1. theherodaily says:

    My first was a spiderman set featuring Darkhawk, Sleepwalker, and a bunch of 90’s new characters. I still have it.

    I used to play Champions when it was a RP game. It kind of inspired my page theherodaily.wordpress.com

    • shadowwar says:

      I read some of your articles, that’s pretty good stuff. Super hot girl made me chuckle, and the pic was perfect.

  2. Scarbigrot says:

    Iron man or Daredevil in the 80’s.

Leave a Reply

