Becoming a Hero

I Need A HeroA couple of videos were posted on the Champions boards today. They give us glimpses of tutorial zone you go through, somewhat similar to that in City of games, only more expansive. Throughout the first video, the narrator uses the word “iconic” a lot, like a whole lot, it got a tad annoying. Still the videos were very cool, and gave a real good look at some of the game play. The opening concept is that Millenium City has been attacked by alien bugs, and they focused on the Champions first, so there is a need for a hero. In comes you the player to fill that role.

They also introduced what they call “The Powerhouse”, think of it as a training simulator for your potential powers. Essentially, you zone in, buy a power and get to play with it against dummies. The video shows some really amazing things with a might based power and one travel power. The might character at one point is walking around picking up massively heavy objects and tossing them at enemies, and hints to the existence of an F-16 that you can do this with somewhere. Raise your  hand if you want to throw a multi-million dollar war-machine at a pack of Viper agents!

The more I see the game in action, the more eager I am for Monday to get here. Super-bright colors, and graphics that hearken to the days of my early youth with comics. Driven by a team who wants action to be core of the game. Anytime someone mentions trying to make their video game like a Michael Bay movie, you know they want fun, fast-paced thrills, and I’m down with that. What’s also great are the details. When a piece of ground gets ripped up to be tossed at an enemy, it leaves a crater and the piece matches the terrain. If you use an earth flight power in the middle of a city, chunks of re-bar are poking out of the concrete/asphalt road you just commandeered as your flying platform. These little things really help to increase immersion, and fulfill the experience.

Obviously, I’m excited to try this out, and do all the cool things any comic-nerd has always wanted to do. I really am hoping it plays as well as it appears.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Becoming a Hero

  1. canazza says:

    I get the feeling that I’ll be spending atleast a week in the character creator. So many ideas in my head just bursting to come out.

    I’ve always suffered from alt-itis so this game will likely feed that addiction 😀

  2. Slurms says:

    I’m excited to finally get in as well, but i’m a bit worried. I saw an image in a video yesterday that displayed the power sets you could choose from. There was no “radiation” set. Now, I imagine I’ll just have to say “okay, I want to play like a blaster/mellee/etc, but then I’ll choose that my powers came from a radioactive accident hence my green glow” sortof…thing…but I was really hoping for a full on power set about it since one of the villians they showed off a couple months ago was essentially a radiation based dude.

    We will see in a matter of days though!

  3. theerivs says:

    I’m starting to get a little hyped about this game as well. Grrr. Here we go again. Son of a.

    Get out of my head, I need WoW badges of Conquest!!!!

    • shadowwar says:

      I know you’re going to love all the achievments in this game, AKA: Perks. I get the feeling this game is going to be ultra-casual, easy to jump in and out of.

      • pitrelli says:

        from my time in closed beta i can confirm this is exactly what this game is. You can log in for say an hour and feel like you did something worth while. Its one of the reasons I’ll be buying it

  4. theerivs says:

    I signed up for open beta…HAPPY NOW!

Leave a Reply

