Favorite Comic Movies

incrediblesIn my ramp-up to Champions Beta, I’ve been reading their forums a good amount, and one of the threads was a listing of everyone’s favorite Super-hero/Comic Book movie. Obviously, it’s a loosely defined conversation that went all over the place, but it got me thinking of some of the GREAT comic-book type movies we’ve had in the last 10 years or so.

In no particular order, these are the ones that came to mind when I sat down to think about them:

  1. X-Men 1 & 2
  2. Iron Man
  3. Unbreakable
  4. Watchmen
  5. V for Vendetta
  6. Dark Knight
  7. Constantine
  8. 300
  9. Hell Boy
  10. Incredibles
  11. Transformers
  12. Sin City
  13. Spiderman 2 (more-so than 1)
  14. Punisher (2004)
  15. Incredible Hulk (2008)
  16. Push (was actually really good)

That’s a list that came to my mind, but it also made me think of all the god-awful bad ones that have been made.

Also in no particular order:

  1. Ultraviolet (why weren’t you more like Equilibrium!?)
  2. Daredevil
  3. Spiderman 3 (maybe not terrible, but still bad)
  4. Mystery Men (some love it, but I hated it)
  5. Ghost Rider
  6. X-Men 3 (same as Spider 3)
  7. League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (the comic was so damn good too)
  8. Elektra
  9. Spawn (visually impressive, but just not good)
  10. Batman 3 & 4 (once Tim Burton left, they tanked)
  11. Wanted – I thought was decent overall, Jolie was hot, and James McAvoy did well, but they jumped the shark too often

What do you think? Do you have any favorites? Any you lothe? Did I totally miss the mark on some of these?I’d be interested to hear what you guys have to say.

Edit: I’m a moron, and apparently type “Watchmen” instead of “Wanted” for #11 on the bad list.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Favorite Comic Movies

  1. canazza says:

    Completly agree with Unbreakable. Almost criminally ignored. And X-men 3, while a little underwhelming compared to it’s prequels, isn’t in the same league of awful that Batman Forever/Batman & Robin was. If you’re going to put an X-men film in there, put Origins:Wolverine *blech*

    You also forgot that Will-Smith Vehicle “Hancock” which started off okay but suffered from lets-get-some-action-footage for-the-trailer syndrome about half way through totally ruining it.

    • shadowwar says:

      God, I forgot all about the awful-ness that was Wolverine:Origins. I tried to blot it out of my memory.

      It’s funny, you mention Hancock, because NUMEROUS people on the Champions forum listed that in their “top 5”, which made me go, “Waahh??”.

  2. Rer says:

    Awww, you didn’t like Watchmen?

    • shadowwar says:

      Course I did, that’s why it’s #4, but apparently, I was reading at the same time as typing, and said Watchmen instead of Wanted in the bottom list, I’ll correct it.

  3. theerivs says:

    I was wondering about Push, I guess I gotta get it. For some reason I just never got into Watchmen. I love everything Hulk. Even the old Bill Bixby series. The New Hulk with Ed Norton one of my fav actors, purely awesome.

    Ghost Rider…wasn’t that bad, if you were high on PCP, and some sort of horse tranqulizer. LOL!

    • shadowwar says:

      My wife fell asleep, literally, in the middle of Ghost Rider. I’m not going to say Push was the most amazing movie ever, or that it was some in-depth, convoluted emotional and psychological twister that Watchmen is, but it was fun. Think Jumper, only better.

  4. Speed dating affiliate says:

    Well, all the comic movies mentioned above are amazing. Most of all,i like “Batman: The Dark Knight” because its simply outstanding movie.

Leave a Reply

