Taking a break from the Shadow Warrior to play a Blackguard

BlackGuardI have no clever title. So I decided to make it as long as possible and fully explain the crux of the entire post. I’m kind of curious to see how long, obtrusive titles look on a blog, instead of short, witty, mildly related ones.

Either way, as the title says, I’m taking a break from my Shadow Warrior to play my Blackguard. I might dabble with my DoK as well, but really, I’ll be playing my Blackguard. I know, I know, I hear the confused grunts as I type this. You’re thinking, “Why the hell would you go from a Shadow Warrior, to a Blackguard? Don’t you know they’re useless?” Well, yes and no. Blackguards, when functioning on their own, and independent of others, have a harder time getting along at times, without a ridiculous renown rank, and great gear. On the other hand, when you put them in a group setup made to take advantage of some of their unique abilities, they can be devastating.

Or, you might be saying, “Didn’t you already try a tank class?”. Yes, yes I did. I got him to level 36 actually, and as fun as the Knight is, I can’t play one with a two-hander. I just can’t do it, they look absolutely retarded. With a sword and shield, they look amazing.However, and that’s a big however, I’ve yet to be convinced that a shield provides enough extra staying power, or versatility, to be worthwhile. From my experience, tanks are the last ones to be standing whether they have a shield, or a two-hander, so I might as well be doing as much damage as I can.

For instance, place a Blackguard, specced with Soul Killer, and go duo’ing with a Torture specced DoK who has Curse of Khaine. People will die horribly, screaming out in anguish as they wonder why that heal is only hitting them for 100 points. So, the class isn’t completely without use, but I do see that it is an incredible uphill battle. The difference this time around is I’m expecting it.

We have all dealt with the problems created by the times when expectation and reality clash, and the result is nothing like we anticipated. Many people have become incensed at Mythic for not meeting their expectations. And while, yes, I have raged out sometimes over this, I still see Mythic as a whole as a better-than-average game studio. I see Warhammer as the best possible PvP game currently on the market. I still enjoy playing the game itself, and still have fun jumping into it, just not as a class who had my playstyle punched through the floor. My expectations of what the Shadow Warrior class was supposed to be, is nowhere near to the state of what they currently are.

So, I look to my Blackguard, and I’m prepared to be destroyed. I’m ready to be turned away. I’m ready to be the brunt of every joke of tanks out there. Bring it on. I’m going to be running around happily with my glaive, chopping whatever can, as hard as I can. I decided, that if I’m going to be angry, and hating the class I play, or hating anything, I should play a class that symbolizes and embodies the essence of hatred, and the Blackguard is that class.

Plus, they’re damn sexy.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

6 Responses to Taking a break from the Shadow Warrior to play a Blackguard

  1. Eyeball says:

    It is good to see you trying something new, and putting your SW to the side for now.

    I would try playing your BG on Dark Crag since you are switching factions anyways, and it will be one less thing to worry about later when the next server mergers come.

  2. Radishlaw says:

    It’ll be interesting to see you comment on the hatred mechanic and the high hatred needed for effective BGs in general – said by BGs as the crux of the problem of their class.

  3. Evil Evil says:

    Yes, they’re damn sexy.

    But. As Radishlaw all ready mentioned, it’s high hatred that makes or breaks the fight. That’s been my experience anyways.

  4. Firstto says:

    Just make sure to take happy pills before you get really into T4, otherwise suicide could be a potential side effect of having to deal with Blackguard’s suckiness. ❤

    • shadowwar says:

      Thanks for the encouragement all. 😉 Seriosuly though, I’m really looking forward to delving deeper into the class, and how it functions as a whole. At first glance the mechanic looks like the warrior mechanic from WoW, but so far, in play, it feels nothing like it at all. I just hit 17 last night, so I’ll keep everyone updated as I progress.

  5. theerivs says:

    welcome back to the destro side…we’ve been waiting for you…muhahahaha

Leave a Reply

