Nerfed Buttons

I_WinI’m not an addon pusher, or the type to go off on tangents about some minor thing in a game. That said, I recently got this addon by the name of nerfed buttons to start working. I’ve had it downloaded for a while, after hearing about how great it was, but I never spent the time to find out how it works. At first it’s a little complicated, but not so much that it will bar entry to the most basic levels of it. I do see how mastering it could take quite a while.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. The long and short of it’s functionality is that it’s a parameter based macro add-on. Not macro in the sense of it does everything for you, but in the sense that it changes what can happen based upon user input. Perhaps an example would be best.

As a Shadow Warrior, and a skirmish one at that, I’m am CONSTANTLY trying to put Broadhead Arrow [BHA] and Shadow Sting [SS] on any enemy target I have, and it’s required to be in that order based on the requirements of Shadow Sting (aside: I really wish I had put together that list of SW abilities now, would be great to link to them… I’m lazy). In any matter, my typical attack patern for just random group on group fights is BHA – SS – Spiral Fletched Arrow [SFA]. With this addon I can create a bind to my “1” button to use BHA on a target, then SS if my BHA is on them, then Flanking Shot [FS] if I’m behind them, and then SFA until I can either reapply BHA or SS. The addon checks every 1/10th of a second to determine if all the parameters have been met for the next ability. It saves me so much trouble with hitting many keys, in a precise manner, in the proper succession. It lets me not have to worry so much that I’m getting the correct combo and let’s me have more situational awareness and maximize my mobility.

The above example is accomplished by the following command

/nb add 1 [Broadhead Arrow]st:1:s[Shadow Sting]st:1:s[Flanking Shot][Sprial Fletched Arrow]

The magenta text represent the base command string to open up all options for the addon. The red text tells NB to add a macro to the “1” hotbar slot, you can add at least up to the “9” key. The green text is the actual link of the ability that you want from your abilities pallet, default access by the letter “v”. The light blue text sets the parameters. In this case st:1 means I want one stack of the ability that  precedes it before moving onto the next ability in the list. If it was something that could stack multiple times, I would change it to st:x, where x is how many stacks I want. The “s” that follows the 1 indicates that I want this to be something applied by me, if I did not have that there, and another Shadow Warrior had applied BHA or SS it would skip to the next abilities.

As I said, this can take a long time to master, and there is a huge library of parameters you can set, and a wealth of diversity and capabilities this thing can open up to players to really push their gameplay to the next level. I know that immediately after I got this all set up, I went into a scenario with a guild group and walked out with 18 killing blows and 5 death. I also got one of the best compliments I have ever received in game, a healer in the other group sent me a tell saying, “They really dislike you!”. It warmed the cockles of my heart.


About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

10 Responses to Nerfed Buttons

  1. brikkhowz says:

    as far as I know this is against the EULA of mythic. You might want to take it off your blog. But i could be wrong. 🙂

    • shadowwar says:

      It’s completely legit as far as I know. It’s not a macro, per-say. I tried to explain in my post what it actually does. It makes sure that whatever skill you want to be available under a certain set of circumstances. Considering how widely used this add-on is, how long it’s been around (January), and how well known it is (on curse, has a google forum, dedicated thread on WHA, and on the official forums), I’m 99% positive that it meets the requirements of the EULA. The biggest thing to realize is that I still have to press a key for each skill I want to use. In the chain I linked, I still have to press the “1” key to use each skill in the combo.

      I’ll leave a quote that someone else said in regards to it:

      …and does not cheat or exploit the game mechanics. It simply makes use of the API in ways developers must have intended when they exposed all the information that makes the checks possible.

  2. Jeremy says:

    Yup, if you still have to press the button for each skill then it’s not a True “marco” this is more of a skill checker linked to a hot button, Been using it for a while as well. Turns a zero into a hero real quick for PvP.

  3. chris says:

    hmm I’ll give it a shot. I can’t help but think how much more fun my black orc would be with a program like this. Since all his abilities are tiered.

    • shadowwar says:

      Oh man, for a black orc, definitely get plan B. It changes your first hotbar for each part of the plan/balance you achieve. It’s insane the difference it makes.

  4. Jeremy says:

    Does anyone know of a website that deal specificall with Nerfed Buttons examples for different classes or walkthrough? I love this add on I just know there is so much more I could do with it than I currently am.

    • shadowwar says:

      I’m not sure what class you play, but I know that there were numerous threads in the Shadow Warrior forums on WHA with people talking about it, if I were you, I would start there for your class. Also, the google groups link that you find through the Curse website lets you ask any questions you want, and I’m sure people could help you there. Or if you really feel like skimming the bottom of the barrel, ask me what you want to do, and I’ll see what I can figure out 😉 My contact info is at the top of the page.

  5. NefedWar says:

    Many thanks for your blog post Andrew, very informative.

    Jeremy, the best place for help is at http://groups.google.com/group/nerfedbuttons

  6. Rahamatata says:

    “They really dislike you!”
    18 killing blows and 5 death
    Waw….all that with just an addon, be serious, if you can accomplish that ONLY with the addon then its a matter of l2p your 4 button class.
    Aw and btw that was the most cheesy compliment I ever heard of

    • shadowwar says:

      First: Is this a stream of concious reply? It made very little sense.

      Second: Thank you for reading through old posts, as far as 6 months back. I mean this sincreley. It makes me happy to know that I’m engaging enough for players to read even old messages.

      Third: Nerfed Buttons doesn’t make a bad player into a good one. It can make a bad player almost competent if they take the time to figure it out and use it correctly.

      Fourth: Considering the arrival of Aion, and the way it seemlessly integrated skill chains, this is something the majority of NB users mirror. For instance, with the shadow warrior: Broadhead Arrow>Shadow Sting.

      Fifth: Some classes absolutely depend on it to make up for piss-poor implementation of mechanics on the part of Mythic. Again, with the shadow warrior, and stances. The ability to put yourself stanceless unintentionally, and not have access to 90% of your abilities demanded me to create a nerfed buttons string to circumvent this.

      Sixth: LoL at your 4 button comment. Go play a SW and tell me you only use 4 skills.

Leave a Reply

