Don’t do this often…

wcpilogovisual2Whoever may be reading this right now, needs to go here. I’m a nerd for grammar stuff, and even though I often get it wrong, I still love the intricacies of the English language, and the crazy things that can come out of a person’s mouth. Ariwyn is also an active member of the Warhammer Alliance community, and is a part of the WCPI, despite the non-game focus of the blog. So much love.

Examples: “A whole nother”, sticking a word (whole) in between letters of an already existing word (another) is not cool. The word irregardless is awful grammar, means the same as regardless, and is burning my insides right now, because my Firefox spellchecker is not recognizing irregardless as a typo, and even worse still, the WordPress spell check  recognizes when the word is spelled wrong, and gives “irregardless” as an option! Oh my soul, it hurts, it hurts.

Anyway (I use this gem of an error a LOT),  definitely adding this one to my blogroll. I’m also realizing I have to start chopping that list into different catagories, friends, Warhammer, etc…

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

3 Responses to Don’t do this often…

  1. Kelly says:

    First, let me just say how FLATTERED I am that you created a post dedicated to my blog. Considering it is not related to Warhammer Online, I am touched that you would do a write up about it.

    I live a very dual-life. I have my Warhammer “Ariwyn” persona where I work as Content Lead for Warhammer Alliance, but I’m also just “Kelly,” a chick who’s really into writing, grammar, and helping others improve themselves. Since the two seem so diametrically opposed, they don’t often overlap. I’m thrilled to see members of my gaming community interested in my personal endeavors, and if they gain something out of it–so much the better.

    Thank you so much for highlighting my blog. It’s still in its infancy (almost a month old!) and is doing great with approximately 50+ views a day. Generous people like you help me keep working at it. If you ever have a suggestion, please let me know.

    P.S. “Irregardless.” To me, it functions like a double negative. The prefix ir- is usually used to negate something (irresponsible, for example), yet “regardless” is already negated. It means WITHOUT regard. Thus, adding a negative prefix to it negates it AGAIN, making it seem like a positive. I hate it too 😛

  2. Tyrhoor says:

    err.. Here I thought I was going to read something fun and just realized I hate the English language even more than I already do. Unfortunately I have nothing to fall back on except grunting, and even that may be too complicated for me.

    I am actually going to add UnEnlightenedEnglish to my blog roll… because it will make me a better person. Or it will cause me to go crazy. Either or, fun for all.

  3. Kelly says:

    Haha, thanks! I try to make it a bit lighthearted and fun, while being educational at the same time. If you have any suggestions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

