Migrainuers, Myself and Many More

migraineI’ve been laid out for the last few days with a migraine. Not just any migraine, but a migraine sent from the deepest depths of Hell to torment me for some perceived slight I’m sure. The best part was that on Monday, I had a crew installing and building custom bookshelf built-ins for the study in my house. Nothing like hammers, saws, nail-guns, and workmen stomping around to REALLY destroy any nerve endings I had left. If you’re unfamiliar with migraines, or have never had any, count yourself lucky.

The best way to explain it, is to imagine half of your head to be just completely on fire, inside. On top of this fun experience, every light is so bright that it causes shooting pain behind the eyes, and every noise makes you wish for sweet silence, and for some lucky few (myself included) certain scents make you want to vomit. A very apt descriptions would be anecdotal, I got a migraine in the middle of a nights sleep once, moments before waking up, I was dreaming that worms made of fire were swimming inside my skull, devouring my grey matter. The upside to migraines for some: cool visual “auras” (scintillating scotoma) about 15-30 minutes before they hit,  they can only be described as the after image a sparkler leaves in it’s wake, in zig-zag formations across my entire field of vision.

They do make medication for this, and it usually works. I take some stuff called Maxalt MLT, and if I can get in me before the actual migraine hits, it’s far more likely to be a success. These little self-dissolving tablet taste like ass too boot, so there’s an extra layer of fun for you. However, it’s not uncommon for me to be unable to take the pill during my auras, whether I’m not at home, I forgot to replace on in my wallet from last time, or I’m all out of these expensive little buggers (~$7.50 a pill WITH insurance). When that’s the case, the effectiveness drops drastically. Kiss complete pain relief out the window, I’m just hoping that it will dull the pain enough to go about my normal activities, or let me be able to get some rest in a close, quiet room, with no covers and a fan on full blast (cold is better).

But hey, apparently there’s been a whole lot of other famous people who suffered from the same crap as I do. Here’s a short list:

  • Thomas Jefferson
  • Vincent Van Gogh
  • George Seurat
  • Virgina Woolfe
  • Cervantes
  • Lewis Carroll
  • Julius Ceaser
  • Napoleon
  • Ulysses S. Grant
  • Robert E. Lee
  • Nietzsche

And a crap-ton of other people. So yeah, these things can suck, a lot, but it’s nice to be able to look at a whole listing of people who have had such a lasting affect on the annuls of time, and made their mark, and know that they probably went through a lot of the same crap I go through from time to time. Maybe sometime in the future, another person will be writing about their trials with migraines, and include MY name in a list of great people who rose above.

I know return you to your regularly unscheduled WAR blog.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

One Response to Migrainuers, Myself and Many More

  1. Jason says:

    You know, I hadn’t had a migraine in nearly 10 years, and I had one a couple weeks ago. I am a teacher, and it happened at work. I knew it was coming because I also get those weird visual disturbances. Where those occur in my vision, I am nearly sightless. This is how I notice it’s happening, because I’m like, “What the hell, why can’t I see right there?” My best remedy? I don’t have pills, so I try to get home as quickly as possible, take 2 advil, drink a glass of water and go lay down and go to sleep in a dark, quiet room. Usually when I wake up, the pain is minimal and I can at least function somewhat.

Leave a Reply

