Scratch Scratch Scratch

scratch1I’m feeling an itch. It’s an odd itch. I’m starting to think back as my time as a DoK, and thinking of all the different cool things I can do with him as they stand now. I’ve been poking about with a build calculator, and just reminiscing about how cool it could actually be to be a front line fighter who heals through damage. I saw a build on the forums, that really lit the fire under me, and got the wheels turning so to speak. Would I be a pretty selfish healer still? Yes, but tough cookies, if you want heals, it’s important that I keep myself up as well, you’ll get my spill overs. This isn’t like before, when I just transferred over my characters to see the new server and maybe a city siege, no… this is a genuine interest in playing another character as more than just a passing hobby.

I don’t know what precisely it is that’s driving me to this. It may be a general ennui with the way my class is right now. I’ve been ranting and railing about this all over the forums and on this blog for some time now. I’ve been passionate about making this a better class, but I’m starting to feel drained. It seems like my energy and efforts don’t mean squat, and that my calls fall on deaf ears. If I was alone in my sentiment, maybe I would feel better, but it seems like everyone who plays this class sees the obvious problems, and is calling out for help, but hearing only an echo.

I don’t know, maybe a I never should have deviated from my typical tank-class focus. Or maybe I should have just stuck with the class I chose from the get-go. More and more as time goes on, and I continue to hear nothing about the Shadow Warrior, my desire to stick with it wanes. So, maybe Mythic lucked out with me. Maybe instead of quiting the game completely, I’ll just go over to my DoK, and play him. I can say with certainty though, if I DO quit the SW, and play the DoK, I’m not going to sit around and be patient if there are serious problems.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

9 Responses to Scratch Scratch Scratch

  1. Shanqya says:

    I try not to hate people like you, however:

    Mythic has made this Hybrid healer, the true dedicated healer class on the Destruction side. A player who does not take advantage of the overpowered functionality of the class, and denies the realm that power, is incredibly selfish. If the heals were mediocre, because you were a hybrid, I would fully support this.

  2. shadowwar says:

    Haha, fair enough, fair enough.

  3. Nosmo King says:

    ‘I try not to hate people like you, however:
    Mythic has made this Hybrid healer, the true dedicated healer class on the Destruction side. A player who does not take advantage of the overpowered functionality of the class, and denies the realm that power, is incredibly selfish. If the heals were mediocre, because you were a hybrid, I would fully support this.’

    I’m confused. I thought Shadowwar was bashing the Shadow Warrior not the DoK. And I’m not sure this constitutes hating people so much as frustration over a broken class that Shadowwar has been faithful to and concerned about. I feel his pain and I think at this point he is justified in his complaints. -NK

  4. shadowwar says:

    I think he’s pissed off that I’ve been neglecting the DoK this entire time.

  5. Bananagrabbers says:

    This is nothing new, this is pretty much the standard spec for all DoK’s who want to dps and still live on the front lines, it’s a lot of fun though, give it a try.

  6. You are not alone says:

    The fact is that the SW is next to useless from R30 onwards unless you are some kind of Uber Player and a lot of people would say that it is V under powered long before that.

    I too play(ed) a SW up until recently and have given up and gone over to the dark side. I have a DoK (specced out DPS) and a WP (heal spec) and am deciding which I like more.

    Unfortunatel neither is nearly as much fun to play as the SW I have regrettably had to leave so last night I rolled another SW on Karak norn to play up in the lower levels where the problems with SW are less pronounced and guess what? There were loads of SWs!

    In Tier 1 on KN it seems that lots of players who have given up on T4 now that it is an AoE Zergfest have rolled SWs to try something different.

    Lets face it, SW may be UP and seriously hard to play but if you are a good player and like a challenge it’s the most fun you can have with a PC while your wife and kids are in the room 🙂

    Who can deny the elation of running rings of death around some poor Black Orc or Chosen like a fleet footed Valkyrie?

    Roll another SW and play in the lower tiers again, you owe nothing to anyone not paying your sub.

    You know it makes sense 🙂

  7. shadowwar says:

    My lament I think, is more that I’m not effective on the battlefield. I’m having fun with my playstyle on him, but it’s just not doing much. The biggest thing I contribute is a -50% debuff on people from tab targeting, and a mild suppression fire from my Split Arrows. And yes, I tried out the build on my 40 DoK, and it was a lot of fun. Even got an annihilator breastplate from a keep yesterday in the short time I played.

  8. Nat says:

    For the Melee DoK: the biggest annoyance are the constant tells to go backline and heal (they mean: play the single button class). Beside that (real answer on these: “count my swords”) its fun but needs some experience and excercises (at least for me, dropping my shaman for the melee DoK).

    And for the SW: must be a very bad feeling standing beside the BWs erasing whole warbands faster than a SW a single opponent. Buffs needed!

  9. Pingback: Slight Retraction « Shadow WAR’s Blog

Leave a Reply

