Blogging Minutia

There are a bunch of little things I’d like to do here to the site. I’m still not 100% happy with the appearance and layout, though I do like it immensely for an out-of-the-box setup. So, I’d like to change that up a bit to be more in-line with where I want to take this. As I mentioned earlier, I’m also going to be loading up Shadow Warrior abilities/tactics/morale abilities. I’ve made good progress on that so far, I’ve got all the images I need of them all saved on my hard drive, I just now need to clean them up, and upload them, then present them (okay so I have step 1 of 4 done). I’d also like to do something to increase traffic, and I hope discussions, through here. The Age of Blogging initiative has helped tons in that regard already. My daily tracking numbers have doubled in a day, which is impressive. Someone mentioned an RSS feed in a comment. What is that? What does it do? How do I set one up?

When it comes to blogging, I’m a complete novice, I never even really read many other blogs until recently. The small blog I took part in before was just me making posts, the maintenance/set-up/design/what-have-you was all taken care of by my guild mate, so all of these little things to make my writing more available/accessible/interactive/fun to the readers is completely not within my current realm of knowledge. I’m sure I could find out all of this stuff in time through lots of research and what-have-you, but damn-it, I’m busy playing!

So, as an open call to anyone who passes through here, please, lend advice/criticism/hate mail/praise. You can even e-mail it to me at shadow.war.blog@gmail.com!

Edit: What is with me and useing slashes instead of commas to seperate different articles today?
About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

2 Responses to Blogging Minutia

  1. Slurm says:

    One thing that always helped my traffic is if I commented on other’s blogs or on forums and left the ability to link back to my own.

    My biggest hitter was still my Pumpkin carving I did for Halloween. I linked to the post from the Warhammer Alliance forums and the hit counter went nuts.

    Just give it time. As others find your stuff, they’ll add it to their rss readers (as I have done) and you’ll get more regular hits every time you post. As for commenting, let me know if you figure it out. I was getting plenty of hits on my blog, and still do over at Lagwar, but I never get people commenting hehe. I just assume they agree with everything I say or I’m not writing anything too profound =P

  2. Pingback: Monday Morsels of Goodness! | The Greenskin - Warhammer Online Blog, Videos, Guides, Webcomic & Podcast

Leave a Reply

