I can whore with the best of them

Any opportunity to get a dig in at Favre...

It’s the “official” launch day for Rift. Everyone is talking about it. Everyone. Which means that I’m talking about it too, as I fall into the category of “everyone”. Mostly, the hub-ub is whether the game is “successful” or “evolutionary” or “next-gen”. Some are throwing around flashy phrases like “3.0″, or writing things with a lot of “quotations” to make them seem “edgy”.

I’m still not blown away by the game myself though. It’s fun, and easy. Really easy. And maybe that’s the appeal. Avoiding the literal term of the words given the queue situation, it’s very easy to get in and out of so far. The quintessential theme park so far, where every step is guided, I know exactly where I’m supposed to go at any moment. Along those predetermined routes, I’m usually able to find more than ample supplies for any of the crafting professions I’ve chosen to pursue, and then just do a mass-combine when I’m done. The only limitations to outings from a hub have been the moderate ones generated by bag space – and that has been minor at best.

For me, the most engaging aspect of the game, hasn’t been the game itself. It’s been the meta. Experimenting with builds, reviewing and judging the various souls for synergy and complementing abilities. It’s good fun, and the rest of the game is exactly what I, and I think others, want out of PvE themepark game if they are going to play it. If you’re looking for the “new dynamic” you wont’ find it in Rift. Nothing has struck me as revolutionary or astounding in innovation (which you’ve read elsewhere a thousand times).

That said, I don’t necessarily believe that the “next gen” of MMOs are required to include a new gameplay experience, or some new system. If that was the case, WAR would be a much stronger case for being declared part of the next generation crowd than Rift. I sincerely believe that being part of the new breed of MMOs could be just releasing polished, finished games on day 1. With previous games, when buggy launches occurred, or problems arose, we still had people believe that it was just the way the genre was. The nature of the beast, so to speak. I was one of those people as well. So, if Rift alone can convince people such as myself, and the entire genre, into stronger releases, and better implementations, then I say – that’s worthy of declaring the new generation in effect. It sets the bar for its contemporaries, and I think that Rift did that. I know that I’ll be judging all future MMOs on launch day to Rift. Won’t you?

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

4 Responses to I can whore with the best of them

  1. Silverel says:

    “I know that I’ll be judging all future MMOs on launch day to Rift. Won’t you?” – Quoted for edginess

    Also, hell yes. Rift at launch is the new standard for how any future MMO should be. Falling behind this will guarantee a spot on the niche shelf. I feel no mercy for games that fail to live up to this new standard.

  2. Pitrelli says:

    Interesting post and take and I find myself agreeing with a lot of what you say …….except the part about the next gen being finished products when released. Although perhaps you have a point since I seem to get crucified for having the cheek to question why MMOs past and present released so badly and get the ‘ you not played an MMO before ?’ ‘you expect too much’ etc.

    It does make me kind of sad if we refer to the next generation as developers and companies actually taking responcibility and releasing something they can be proud of. I honestly think they have been forced to due to several games launching in a poor state then numbers falling drastically.

    With all this in mind I think Rift is in an interesting place, its the first MMO which can be judged on its merits as a game on its own without being overshadowed by a horrendous launch. I have my fingers crossed for them because as a gamer we need more AAA+ titles to make an impact and decent fist of it for more to be created.

  3. theerivs says:

    I give Trion alot of credit…so far it’s been smooth sailing in terms of the game itself. It has alot of elements of WAR, WoW, and some other MMO’s mixed in there. Like salvaging your armor you create to skill up…awesome idea.

    I consider Trion like a burger joint, sure there are tons of burger places out there, and not many variations, but you do it right, and put out a quality product your going to busy as hell.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 278 other followers

