Should have focused on my Blackguard

I’m building up a lot of hate after this weekend.

Thursday and Friday I had to travel to survey a structure for work. It was an engineering lab. The plans we got from the school were terrible. Walls drawn with  one line, dimensions off, and the engineered portion of the work was unclear and poorly implemented. Then, throw in a dash of overly protective and inquisitive students, and my time there was not much better. To cap off the fun-times of the trip, I got a speeding ticket in a 200 yd speed trap. Yes, 200 yds the speed drop 10 MPH. Hawthorne, suck my nuts. The cop gave me the counties (elevated) ticket cost, PLUS another $100 because I have a shield on my licence plate that he says he couldn’t read my tag through. Suck a dick. The cap on top of this fun weekend was my daughter’s ear infection, and the 6 hours in the ER our pediatrician sent us to spend there, waiting to see a doctor to write a script for antibiotics. Who else is so glad they just passed that bill with an overwhelming bipartisan majority in the Senate that will infuse waiting rooms with even MORE people who treat the ER as a general practitioner?

*deep breath*

I’ll be okay, really.

As for WAR news, a lot of great things have been sprouting up all over the place. The biggest is probably news of a possible expansion. To be more specific, the question and answer part that has people abuzz is the following:

UGO: Warhammer Online has had its ups and downs. What’s your strategy around that game?

Muzyka: It’s a really high quality MMO, and it’s one of the highest-rated MMOs of all time. We are really proud of the team that did it. They did an amazing job delivering a really high-quality experience. It’s been very successful; a lot of people have played it. Right now it’s really profitable business unit within my group. I think the team is really focusing on continuing to make sure it’s a stable, high-quality service for the fans who enjoy the universe. It’s neat because,we’ve actually seen more people come into the universe which is fun. We’ve tried some free-to-play models for some of the earlier levels, and I think that’s actually drawing people back in. We have new content planned and all kinds of cool expansions for it.

The bold & underlined portions are of particular interest to me, and I think most other players of WAR. I think it puts to rest a lot of concerns about the game being in “maintenance mode” or being a side project that EA does not care for. It’s profitable. Businesses do not let profitable venues languish (in general). The especially do not let profitable endeavors lay dormant when adding to it can increase the profit, and they say they are going to do just that. I love WAR, and I love playing it, and I have a good amount of content left to play in before I’ve experienced all the DCC (developer created content). I’ve got 10.5 renown ranks till cap, and a boat-load of insignia to get till I have the highest tier weapon in game, and a fair amount of crests until I have full Sovereign. When I get all those things, and can check them off my list, I have a near endless supply of PCC (player created content) of PvP to enjoy. Killing the enemy for the sheer fun of killing them. It’s good to know that I’ll be able to explore and partake of that for a long time to come if I choose to, AND that new stuff is going to be coming as well.

So, despite all my hate of the weekend, I’m happy that there were some rays of sunshine in it for me. Also, I’m making my way through God of War 3, and chopping of Hermis’ legs, shoving Poseidon’s wife (still crying) into a crank-wheel to jam it with her soon-to-be-corpse, and ripping off a fingernail from Cronos the Titan are all great stress relievers. Seriously: get this game. If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to buy it.

About Shadow
Making serious business out of internet spaceships.

7 Responses to Should have focused on my Blackguard

  1. Jomu says:

    ugh, seems like you had a bad weekend; hope you feel better esp. since today is monday ;)

    any word on how the new races will be implemented? 3rd faction or one per side (order/destro)?

  2. theerivs says:

    I’m gonna have to dust off the chosen, and clear a way….get it. LOL!

    • shadowwar says:

      Man how I wish your Chosen was on Gorfang instead of Iron Rock. Destro needs good chosen desperately over here, plus we could then have a duel of epic proportions.

  3. Erbse says:

    Sadly I think what their refer to as ‘content’ and ‘expansion’ is merely what that chick stated in the developers letter a while back. Features that should have been in game long ago. Namely the optional bank tabs, bags pace, guild heraldry / tactic reset.

    No high hopes here until I’m proven otherwise, or get more specific information.

    • shadowwar says:

      That may be, and the pecimist in me wants to keep it’s stranglehold grip on the throat of any hope that dares to challenge that idea. That said, as the head of an MMO group, and someone with years in the industry, Muzyka has to know what a trigger word “expansion” is. So, either he knowingly said it to tease fans of the game, and drum up hype (successfully), or he’s ignorant of how loaded a word it is and will probably be a detriment to not only WAR but also SWTOR.

      I like to think it’s the former.

  4. Arisechicken says:

    At first I was like :D

    Then I was like :(

    There is a special circle in hell for whoever thought speed traps were conducive to a safe driving environment. Sorry you had a shitty weekend mang, I hope this week is better for you.

    • shadowwar says:

      There’s a lot of speed traps on this route between Jacksonville and Gainesville. They are blatant. Three “towns” in particular are notorious for them, and there are even BILLBOARDS warning you that you are about to enter a speed trap.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 278 other followers

